What Type of Alarm Clock Do You Use?

Hey, It’s Jet Here.

Mom said that since we are getting acquainted, I should tell you how I begin each day.  As I mentioned a few posts ago, when I joined Mom’s family, my life became much happier.  Each morning, my “It’s Another Great Day” Alarm goes off around 5:00 a.m.  Here’s the technique I share with the family:

  • Since Mom sleeps on the left side of her bed, I sidle up beside where her forearm/elbow/upper arm rests.
  • I’m ambidextrous, so, I can use either left or right front paw.  I take my paw and brush it twice on mom’s arm.  If she doesn’t pay attention, I will repeat this step.
  • Most mornings a combo of paw and whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa will do the trick.  Note to other K-9s… do not bark, humans do not like this.

I must interject here.  When sharing this info with friends, they said, 5 a.m.? Don’t let him out, don’t give him breakfast, he’ll sleep longer or learn to leave you alone.  Here’s the thing – I do not let him out and I do NOT feed him until 6:00 a.m. and he’s not pesty.  Over the last three years, it seems like he’s telling us – Hey, it’s another great day, let’s go!  Also, I think his border collie roots kick in and he sees the light and thinks it’s herding time!

Moooommm… my post, remember?

  • Mom tried to synch my wake up time with Koko’s.  She told me that ladies (Mom and Koko) like their beauty rest and would prefer to wake up at 7:00 a.m.  I feel they would miss the best part of the day continuing with that routine. The sunrise, the ducks and other creatures that cross our yard, the mangos that thud in season… c’mon.  In fact, now that I have Mom on schedule, I’ve heard her tell her friends that she gets a lot done before she goes to work.
  • Finally, my belly alarm clock goes off between 5:45 and 6:05.  Mom said she would like to do this patent thing, because she cannot believe how accurate I am.  When I’m a few minutes early, she whispers in my ear that my belly alarm went off too soon and I have to wait a little while.  She kisses my ear, so, it’s hard to get mad.
  • Oh, the last touch?  BIG TIP HERE:  If your human is grumpy in the morning, roll over on your back with your paws in the air and smile… this aspect of the belly alarm will turn any human frown upside down.  Here’s the proper form, demonstrated by my sister, Koko.  (Mom’s gonna try to upload a photo for the first time, good luck!)

Another Great Day.

2 thoughts on “What Type of Alarm Clock Do You Use?

  1. Pingback: My Two Human Peeves | Hey… It's Jet Here

  2. Pingback: Melatonin Mishap | Hey… It's Jet Here

Leave a Reply

