Melatonin Mishap

Hey, It’s Jet Here.

Glad to be back today.  Thanks to my feline brother, Puffy, for acknowledging an appreciating my interventions between JJ and the felines.

Yesterday, I snoozed through my alarm duties twice.   I typically wake up between 4 and 5:30 depending on whether I emptied my tank before bed the night before.  If you’ve read my posts since Christmas, you will know that I’ve struggled mightily with the booms after dark in my neighborhood.  At worst, I nudge Mom with my wet nose or lightly brush her left arm with my paw at 6, give or take 5 minutes either side.  My back up belly alarm somehow knows that 6 is the magic number for breakfast.

6:24 – yup, that’s what Mom’s telephone said when her eyes flipped open.  JJ and I, unfazed by the hour, were both sprawled out on the bed.  Mom sprung out of bed, speed walked to the kitchen, fed the felines and K9s, tapped my human sister, Rachel’s door, let her know the time, and zipped back to the kitchen to leash us up.  JJ and I enjoyed a leisurely stroll with carefully selected (meaning – took them FOREVER) solid waste sites.  Mom kept urging us to hurry up; she had to walk Rachel into school for some reason and needed to shower and leave the house before 7:10.

Mom had a 6:00 appointment in the evening. She set her phone alarm for 5:40  to mark the end of our power nap.  My belly alarm got stuck in the off position again, like mom’s phone alarm setting.  Mom woke up at 6:12.  I NEVER miss my 6 p.m. internal dinner bell.  Mom changed outfits and quickly fed us before she left.   Upon arrival, the ladies in the group gently told Mom that her shirt seemed inside out!  Whoops. Mom laughed right along with the ladies.

Mom mentioned that this thing called my melatonin cycle might have gotten off track because:

  • of all the booms,
  • causing me not to empty my tank before bed,
  • causing me to rise earlier than normal,
  • causing me to need more naps.

Maybe Mom’s melatonin cycle fell off track, too.  I think we both need a reboot!  Sorry Mom for disrupting our schedule.  No worries Jetty, part of life, we do our best.  I appreciate your thoughtfulness my boy.  It’s 6:01 a.m. and you just nudged me with your nose, I’d say that’s a good sign!

Another great back on time day.

3 thoughts on “Melatonin Mishap

  1. Hi sweet Jetty – glad to hear your getting back on track! I enjoyed reading your wake up Mom tactics – you are just the sweetest guy!!

    my furbabies are kinda off track now – with my company here and I;ve been out of the house way more than usual!

    Sending you so many goodnight kisses, hugs to JJ, Mom Rachel, Puffy and Fluffy! xoxooxox

    • Hey, it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy. Sorry to respond so late, however, Mom had a super busy day and night!

      Me too, Miss Wendy, my Auntie Liz always says… “baby steps…”

      Glad you’re enjoying your family visit, your furbabies will understand and get back on track when you resume your regular schedule.

      Sending early morning Jetty kisses! Jetty kisses and JJ hugs to Mr. David, Jacob, sister, bil, Cassie, Rex, and Barkley!

  2. Pingback: Mischief Monday – 4:12 | Hey… It's Jet Here

Leave a Reply

