Follow Up Friday – Cone of Courage Edition

Hey It’s Jet Here.

follow-up-fridayOur friend, Miss Jodi, Heart Like a Dog, initiated this great idea to update readers on previous posts.  She created a lovely badge to go with her idea and has successfully turned her wonderful idea into a robust blog hop!

Before I begin, may I write a BIG THANK YOU for checking on Mom and I to see how we’re feeling.  I’m kerplopping less out on our walks; however, I’m still rather uncomfortable.  Mom says I tolerate the first aid spray and the goopy medicine very well.  The Cone of Courage remains on 24/7 to defray (VBP) my desire to bite/scratch the area.  Mom seems to have improved about 20%; she continues to feel like her head is under water!  She kept her promise and rested a good bit last week.

Saturday – Merry Newfmas and Happy Houndlidays

ernieWe enjoyed participating in The Pet Blogger Gift Exchange hosted by the fetching Honey and Miss Pamela.  Many of you already knew our giftee, Newf and Hound, while several of you looked forward to meeting them.  Guess what?  Turns out my buddy, Snoopy, lives really close to Hazel, Ernie, Nooner and Foyle and wants to meet them!  Super cool!

Sunday – Cone of Courage 

cone of courage 1We appreciated your feedback which ranged from acknowledging our efforts to “turn our frown, upside down” to making lemonade from lemons, etc… Mom asked me to share she’s glad you found the photo moving.  So many of you have my back on this one, I feel the love!

Monday – Scientific Mischief 

human tangled in dog leashYeah, you could relate to Little Miss Bird Dog and my urges to uh… stray from the strict scientific endeavor of participating in this year’s annual Bird Count.  Glad you got a kick out of our Boa Leash maneuver!  Of course you understood our efforts to keep that arrogant Winchester in line!  My BFF, Savannah, requested a quill from that peacock, which, we will happily try to find when he next molts!

Tuesday – Tasty Tuesday Christmas Style 

christmasWe wished our blogpal community celebrating Christmas the appropriate greetings and asked how to properly do so in a few cultures.  We learned that in a few countries, it’s proper to say Happy Christmas, as Merry Christmas might imply (VBP) debauchery!  We even learned how to send good wishes in Dutch from Suki, Hiro and Miss DiandaVrolijk Kerstfeest!

Wednesday – Now I’m a Leaping Lord

Wowee, wow wow!  Can you believe Miss Ann bestowed such a Royal title on ‘ol Jetty boy?  Thanks for the positive feedback on my new skills.  I think that I may be ready to learn the game of kings… POLO!  Several pals worried about my ego… I want to quash (VBP) the notion that I will change as a result of my recent Royal titles… I remain your humble Jetty.  If I begin to show any difference, Mom PROMISES to keep me in line!

leaping jet

Thursday – The Little Thingies 

shameless conesSo glad you feel the same way about gratitude for the “basics” (which are really a big deal, especially for those of us who had “before” times we do not want to think about.)  We all agree to take time each day to remind ourselves of how fortunate we are.  I’ll remind you, if you remind me!

As for my digression regarding the recent appointment of a new Secretary of State, our friends at the DogDaz Zoo wrote, “And you are so right about a Golden for Sec of State.”  I really feel Bo’s Dad made a mistake – there, I said it again!

bo and Mr. O

Another great Follow Up Friday holiday edition.



40 thoughts on “Follow Up Friday – Cone of Courage Edition

  1. You’ve been a busy dawg Jetty but mom & I are worried about you & Miss L…Can’t be easy with both of you not at your best…Sending you all my best *healingsnoogles* today & hoping you both feel better soon

    • Hey Giz, Jetty here. Hi Miss JG.

      Thanks, Dude… we just love your healingsnoogles… I did have a rough constitutional this a.m., Mom kept saying she knew I could make it home. I appreciated her nose kisses and encouragement.

      Then the ladies went out to finish business!

  2. Hey Jetty, JJ and Mom, thanks for participating in FUF, you always say such nice things about it. I’m not exactly sure it’s a robust blog hop (with only six participants) but I like to think it’s still in the infancy (VBP) stage. 🙂

    Glad Jetty and Mom are feeling on the mend, I hate to ask because mom is so knowledgeable regarding food, but does she add fish oil to your diet? You may recall that Mr. Sampson had a bacterial skin infection himself. Our vet recommended adding some Welactin which is a fish oil and he also has a probiotic he must take. It has helped his itching a lot and the extra stuff in the Welactin seems to be helping his immune system fight off that infection.

    http://www.probioticsmart.com/pets/welactin-canine-16-oz.html?gdftrk=gdfV25654_a_7c2091_a_7c7797_a_7cPET441&gclid=CNKE-cGkvbQCFQGvnQodg1YATg

    As for mom, I”m not sure I mentioned this or not, but Netti Pot. Gross but effective. At any rate, I hope you are all on the mend and ready for 2013!!

    Hugs and kisses.

    • Hey Sampson, Hey Delilah, Jetty here. Hi Miss Jodi.

      If we put out the intentions FUF is robust, than it will be in no time!!

      You are the 2nd human this week to discuss this topic. We asked Dr. Schaffer last week in regard to JJ’s incessant Mani/Pedi work. He didn’t think it was particularly indicated for that. We like the idea of the fish oil and a probiotic (Mom needs one of those at the moment, too! We will look into that, thank you.

      We have a Netti Pot… since 1999! Funny you should mention that, Mom pulled it out the other night to see if she could recall how to use it without… ya know…

      Sending Jetty kisses and JJ hugs right back. 🙂

  3. Hi sweet Jetty – lights went out for a few minutes yesterday and guess what took a long time to get computer back up! GRRR darn technology! thanks for the weekly update and all the great stories and pictures this week even though you and Mom are under the weather. Please feel better both of you!

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      Oh no! We know only too well what that feels like… we’ve had a bunch of minute hear and there losses lately, nothing serious. Thanks for your get better wishes… we’re working on it. I had a really tough morning constitutional… I kerplopped like 15x… Mom had to abort my walk and get me home. Then she took Little Miss Patient for the balance of her walk. 😦

      Glad you enjoyed this week’s entries! 🙂

  4. Hey Jet! It’s Oz. Great Follow Up Friday, especially since it is the LAST Friday in 2012! I hope you started working on your New Years resolutions. I think I am going to change mine…I don’t like any of them except maybe “nap more”. BOL

  5. Glad you and your mom are both doing a bit better. You have had that nasty cone for some time now. Will you miss it when you don’t have to wear it anymore? Maybe you can take it off on Jan.1 to start the New Year?

    • Hey Emma, Jet here.

      Nope, I go right back to life before cone (8 days now), because I’m a live-in-the-moment kind of guy! Mom said I’m still trying to bite my tail, so, I don’t think so… 😦

  6. Jet – I do not know where you and your Mom find the time for so much blogging when you are under water. Thanks for the shout out. A great Follow Up Friday once again.

    • Hey DogDaz Zoo, Jet here.

      Mom doesn’t sleep much! Thank you for the compliment. 🙂 Most welcome, we always hope that by linking up, you might get new visitors!!!

      Have a great weekend. 🙂

    • Hey FOW, Jet here.

      Loved your interview today! WE think so too… feel free to let Sampson, Delilah and Miss Jodi know… or … join the hop!

      I know… time flies when you have a forever home and family! 🙂

    • Hey JFF, Jet here. Hi Miss Jan.

      Mom and I kind of took a step back yesterday… we’re hoping a quiet day will help us both! Thanks for your well wishes.

      We agree, we really tried to think of a better phrase since I have to wear it so often. 😦

  7. Hi Jetty, I saw your comment about my eyes. Well in all honesty I am 100% Mutt. When Mommy adopted me from the animal shelter they said I was a Great Pyrenees Mix and I do act like one (they really didn’t know anything about my parentage as I was found with my litter mates in a box in the woods at Stennis Space Center). My vet thought I might have some Australian Shepherd in me but we really don’t know. Mommy says whatever I am I am 100% CUTE. ~Fenris

    We are hoping that everyone feels better and are sending healing purrs.

    • Hey Socks, Hey Scylla, Hey Fenris, Hey Tuiren, Jet here. Hi Miss Alasandra.

      Thanks for the healing wishes, they mean so much.

      I was sprung from the shelter, too, with only 4 days to spare. Oh, how interesting a Great Pyrenees/Australian Shepherd mix maybe? Totally cool. About how old were you Fenris? We think I’m a mix of a flat coat retriever and a border collie… I act a bit more like a border collie. Mom says no matter what I am, I’m always Mr. Handsome in her eyes!

  8. Hey there. Freighter is becoming acquainted with the cone of shame this week. I bet he would like cone of courage better, or no cone at all. tee hee If he leaves his stitches alone then he can avoid the thing. 🙂

    • Hey Freighter, Hey Thunder, Hey Storm, Jet here. Hi Miss Linda.

      Oh no… sorry to hear about that. I’m still interested in biting my tail because I think I could make it feel so much better! So… I’m stuck with the Cone of Courage for a while longer. 😦 Hope Freighter gets better speedy quick.

      Happy and Healthy New Year to all of you and thank you again for your education this year, which saved JJ’s life! xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

