Diamond Dogs

Hey It’s Jet Here.

One of the ladies in Mom’s biscuit earning office suite gave her this picture last week.

girls-best-friend

Mom found the saying so true; she placed it on top of her printer to see it clearly throughout her workday.  When she told Miss Mary Ann at the corner after our evening constitutional, Miss Mary Ann nodded her head and said she had seen that quote before.

girls best friend

I think I may have shared before that Mom waited over 30 years to share her life with a K9.  I’ve heard people ask Mom the following questions:

Don’t they shed?

sheddingMomYes, I totally don’t care; I’ve waited all my life to live with dogs.  We have tumbleweeds of different colors; my clothes remind me of their place in my life.  Fur adds protein to my dishes! That’s why they invented vacuums, lint rollers, sponges, paper towels, etc… 

Don’t you mind getting up so early?

MomNo, I’m a morning person and I’ve adjusted to Jetty’s schedule by doing work earlier and then squeezing in a nap! 

What about walking them in bad weather?

rainy day 6-23-12 006MomI will say that’s not my favorite occurrence, however, knowing you have to walk several times each day gets you up an out, reminds you to appreciate your surroundings, allows you to practice mindfulness, bonds you with your K9s, and makes you laugh… because what else can you do when you all look like soggy messes!  (I do wish I had a fenced yard with a doggie door!!!)

Do you resent having to interrupt your plans to take them out?

Mom: If I had a bigger family, this issue would be easier; however, I accept my promise and plan accordingly.

Don’t you find two big, hairy dogs too much?

9Mom: No, I’ve always been drawn to big, fluffy dogs.  I find petting their soft fur relaxing and calming.  I brush them most nights (JJ takes 5 minutes, Jetty about 20!)  Watching their bodies decompress (VBP) and their eyes close, trusting me to take care of them means a great deal.  When we walk, they make me laugh as they interact with the outside world.  I revel (VBP) in their enjoyment of the moment.  Also, it keeps my upper body strength strong! 

Don’t they cost a lot? 

Mom: Yes!  Have you heard a house referred to as a money pit?  And yet, the same homeowners will stand by their house like the Captain of the Titanic?  Same goes for furfamily members!  

girls best friend 3

Ann’s Infographic the other day is a stark reminder of what you have in store when deciding to share your life with K9s (felines, too.)  For me, it’s a small price to pay for the invaluable experience of living with K9s.  I probably spend more on their food, treats, vet visits, accessories etc… than on myself at this point, due to changes in my financial condition.   I simply don’t care because the joy and mental wellness they bring to my life is… PRICELESS.

Another great “way to go” Mom day!

Thanks to Life With DogsConfessions of the Plume and Two Little Cavaliers for hosting the Saturday Blog Hop.

saturday blog hop

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

71 thoughts on “Diamond Dogs

    • Hey Scout, Hey Teddy, Hey Ash, Jet here. Hi Miss Lisa.

      We did a lot of comments that day… we brought a bit of Christmas cheer to Miss Mary Ann and Dixie, since they celebrate the holiday.

      Did you have the family home? We thought of you because the weather humans said you were getting snow! We also thought of you when we watched the HEAT game. Would you believe Mom taped the game and the program after just in case it ran late and she still missed the last 40 seconds? So, she does not know who won! (she forgot to google!) Both teams looked super tough… rematch in the spring???

  1. Mommy says having a fenced in yard even without the doggie door is a true luxury. She soooo appreciates it now after loosing my yard for months to the stupid slab work that took forever. And now of course she has to take Tuiren for walks cause she can not go out in my backyard to poop until the hookworms are gone. Mommy says Thursday will be a red letter day because if the hookworms are gone little Miss Annie Tuiren can go out the door with me. ~Fenris

    • Hey Socks, Hey Scylla, Hey Fenris, Hey Annie? (or is Tuiren proper?) Jet here. Hi Miss Alasandra.

      Mom agrees, she would so appreciate a fenced in yard. We recall your slab work; glad to hear the yard is back in business! Yippee, Annie’s almost done with her treatment! (we read about the good news on your happy post.) Bet you two will have such fun in the yard together. whoo hoo!

  2. Season’s Greetings! Your Mom sounds like a wonderful person! I really enjoyed hearing her answers and she’s a gal after my own heart. Have a wonderfully Happy New Year!

    • Hey Sibes, Jet here.

      And a festive Season’s Greetings to you as well!

      Awww, shucks, she is a great Mom. (I say this with complete bias!) By the way, Mom does blogtalk radio too! Most Saturday mornings at around 10:20/10:25 a.m. … in her role as the Kitchen Counselor! She said she will try to give a listen to your episode about the Sibes in S. Florida over the next few days! 🙂

  3. I would live no other way. Glad you finally came to your senses after 30 years and opened yourself up to the incredible-ness of tumbleweed. I know you will never go back to clean black pants ever again.

    • Hey DogDaz Zoo, Jet here.

      Oh Mom wanted K9s earlier… family allergy issues, college, law school, not allowed in housing…

      Mom asked me to share, no way Jose! Gold fur on black pants, black fur on light pants. When the boys were alive, we had grey and white, too!

      • I absolutely understand. It sounds like Mom made a great decision to wait until she could give animals the much needed attention they deserve. I wish everyone would make such a wise choice. Fur is my life. We have lint rollers in every car and every cabinet. BOL

  4. Very nice post, our mom totally doesnt get how anyone can survive without dogs. She does wish there was a bit hair about though, particularly on her clothes (not enough that hse would get a non shedding dog though)

    urban hounds

  5. Hiya Jetty…You’re mom really said it all here today & my mom couldn’t agree more…She loved this post so much she’s shared it everywhere…*highpaws* pal & *happysaturdaysnoogles* to JJ and Miss L

  6. This is one of my favorite posts ever! We experience the same thing from people and mom has similar answers. I guess that is why our moms and us are so happy with each other, we understand the wants and needs of the other species and don’t think twice about sacrificing things if necessary. People that get it are the best! Congrats to you and your mom!

  7. Hey Jets, Jack here. Dude you have the best Mom in the world (next to mine of course). Mom sends love to all you. She hopes your Mom is feeling better.

    • Hey Jack, Hey Ginger, Jets here. Hi Miss Rebecca.

      We’re working on the feeling better part… thanks for the healthy wishes… yesterday was a little rough for me.

      We think Miss Rebecca is a pawesome Mom, too! Mom’s blushing from the compliment.

  8. Hey Jet! It’s Oz.

    Great post! So glad your mom finally decided to have doggies in her life after 30 years! My mom grew up with dogs when little, but then younger sister was born, is allergic and mom had to wait until she was adult and “out of G’ma’s house” until she could have another dog.

    And BOL! My fur is brindled so I can leave just the right color fur on every piece of clothing so you can see it!!

    Have a great weekend, pal!

    • Hey Oz, Jet here.

      Dude, Mom asked me to share that sometimes she has this pull to call you… “The Great Oz!” Ok… moving on…

      Mom had the family allergy issue until she left for college! Then… schooling, then no dogs allowed… then finally!!!! YES!!!

      Dude, brindled… how perfect… covering all bases!

      You too.

  9. I love it! And I agree 100% I cannot imagine my life without dogs. They complete our family and bring so much joy! I also like this quote that floats around:

    “No outfit is complete without a little dog hair.”

    Have a great weekend!

  10. Your mom has some great answers to those questions! I grew up with dogs, so for me think it would just be weird not to have one. I’ve only ever had 3 dogs. 2 shelties and 1 pitbull. My venture with Shiner is very different than living with Shelties to say the least lol…

  11. For the 2 legged members of our household, selling the house would be the smartest thing we could do. There are only 5 good reasons to stay. They all have 4 legs and a tail. What apartment or condo would welcome all 5? So as long as it’s our choice we’ll stay. We made a promise to all 5.
    Wishing you a Happy, Healthy, New Year.
    Dorothy

    • Hey Mistletoe, Hey Hitch, Jet here. Hi Miss Dorothy.

      So good to hear from you. Hoping your holiday time has gone well so far.

      Mom is now in that place, too… people so easily say, so, you’ll “get rid of the dogs (and cats before they crossed this year)” and move into a condo… Mom did this “HUH?” face!

      Wishing you and yours a very HEALTHY and Happy New Year filled with joy and abundance.

  12. Hi sweet Jetty – your Mom couldn;t have said it better!! The joy, happiness, laughter, and pure love received from a fur family member is priceless and well worth swiffering several times day!!!

    Hope you and Mom are feeling better!

  13. My mom has seen that quote a couple of times, too, and she loves it! She says it’s right on the money. Of course what humans get from us canines is a priceless treasure!

    Also, we’ve been so busy this week, we’ve barely seen the inside of our house. We wanted to say thank you so much for your beautiful comment on our Christmas post! You and your mom are aces in our book, Jetty!

    Bunny

    • Hey Bunny, Jet here. Hi Mrs. T.

      We knew you would feel the same way! 🙂

      No worries at all… thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed our comment. You, Blueberry, Morgan, Kuster and Mr. T are the full deck in our book!!! (tried to keep in the same vein, Bunny and Mrs. T!)

      Have a Happy, Healthy and Abundant New Year…

  14. **waves paw** Hey Jet it’s Badger Boo here what a great post your mum is great, would you mind if I added a link to this post? Mummy is writing a post about the joys of sharing your life with us doggies and all my fluff BOL x

  15. Pingback: Follow Up Friday – Diamond Dog Edition | Hey… It's Jet Here

    • Hey Cali and the Felines. Hi Miss Julie.

      Mom asked me to share that she feels the same way… unless the diamonds are naturally colored… whoops, she digressed! Same here. Did you notice how much Cali and I resemble each other? Blows Mom away, each time we visit your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

