Mom Update with a Side of Superbowl

Hey It’s Jet Here.

Mom said I could share the scoop with you today. She’s been home from the hospital for eight days now. Little Miss Where Did Mom Go and I met Mom at the door. She quietly sat down and we met her energy level while showing her how much we missed her. We exchanged lovies for about 20 minutes, heaven I tell ya!

Mom had lots of funny smells on her which, I, Nurse/Detective Jetty insisted on investigating. Mom took me out for an empty the tank, while Angela took Little Miss Easy Peasy. Rachel helped Mom with our evening constitutional that first night and our next morning constitutional. She walked JJ while Mom walked me. After that, Mom felt strong enough to go back to our usual routine. She takes a lot more breaks for resting now, though.

3We’ve stuck close to Mom when she’s in the house. It doesn’t hurt that because of her new diagnosis of Crohn’s disease, she has lots of food experimentation to do. You know we, her faithful Kitchen K9s, will continue to serve as her QC (Quality Control) testers.

Because of her Crohn’s thingie, she has to pull way back on her activities for awhile. Mom sadly withdrew from two of her Kitchen Counselor commitments. Remember the new one? They graciously said they will hold her place for the fall. As for transcribing my posts, she asked if she could write directly to you… take it away, Mom.

thank you in many languatgesI cannot thank all of you enough for your kindness, support, love, healing wishes and concern these past few weeks. A special, immeasurable (VBP) quantity of gratitude goes out to Linda, Savannah’s Mom, who ran Jet’s blog for the week I was in the hospital. Please show her some love and appreciation. Snoopy and his Mum, Annette, texted and called me every day to make sure I was ok, as did Jodi, Sampson & Delilah’s Mom, from Heart of a Dog. My friendships with these women who I’ve never met in person, demonstrates the power of the pet blogging community to make connections I never anticipated. Rebecca and Wendy, my two dear friends from Golden Rescue South Florida, and diligent (VBP) commenters read Linda’s posts to me each day, because I did not have any device in the hospital where I could read posts, even if I wanted to. (Truthfully, I found myself staring out the window, around the room, at the ceiling, at the tv, at the parking garage, at my IV pole, at the door for days… it was weird.)

blog etiquetteI thought long and hard about what I could commit to and keep my recovery going forward. I always believed that I needed to reply to all those who took the time and care to comment on Jet’s post, visit that blog and comment. I know how hard we all work and I thought that was respectful. Right now, I do not feel I can expend (VBP) that amount of energy on Jetty’s blog. So, for awhile, I hope you will understand if I transcribe for Jetty a few times a week, answer your kind comments when I can, and know that I will visit your blogs as time permits, even if I do not leave a comment. I hope to teach what I learn about Inflamatory Bowel Disease eating styles to help others once I get the hang of it.  Gotta make lemonade out of the lemons! (except I cannot have lemons right now!)

Now for the side of Superbowl…

We’re a split home.  I’m rooting for the Ravens, with part of Mom (the colors work well for me!).  You see, Mr. Ray Lewis played college football at UMiami and… Mom read a great book about the Ravens from author Jon Feinstein many years ago. (Miss Linda taught Mom how to use PZap over the phone today!)

pizap.com10.85032704705372451359762951125

Little Miss I Left My Heart in San Francisco will root for the 49ers with the other half of Mom.  You see, Mom’s favorite place in the whole United States is the San Francisco area.  Plus, Little Miss Fashionista likes how the team colors highlight her fur.

pizap.com13597676881711

Another great Yippee Yahoo Mom’s back day!

Thanks to Life With DogsConfessions of the Plume and Two Little Cavaliers for hosting the Saturday Blog Hop.

saturday blog hop

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…  (sorry, the coding is not working today, I’ve notified the Cavaliers!)

73 thoughts on “Mom Update with a Side of Superbowl

  1. I am so very sorry to hear you have Crohn’s Disease. However, this might just be one area I could help you with. My husband has Crohn’s and got it many, many years ago (before they had a clue what it was or how to treat it). He has a bigger problem than most because, as they didn’t know what to do, they removed most of his intestines and his colon so he suffers many issues related to that. However, he has studied it extensively and knows more than the average doctor out there. If you would like, I could give him your email address so that he can give you as much advice as possible. I will also email you shortly. The food you eat will now become critical to your management thereof. OK, going to stop typing in the comments bit and actually send you an email.

    • Hi Susan,

      Of course, please do. What’s amazing is that the more I share that I now have Crohn’s, so many people I know or someone in their lives has the same. I, too, was likely misdiagnosed 25 years ago, when I had the same experience to almost the same degree for 2 YEARS!

      I’m so sorry he has such a severe experience… mine seems much more mild in comparison.

      I welcome feedback, suggestions, insight, … thank you, I’m most grateful yet again for my blogpals. 🙂

  2. I’m so glad you’re home and out of the hospital. Do not envy you your diagnosis. My mom has lived with IBD for years. Know you’ll feel better when you get the hang of a new diet. Take good care of yourself. Sending hugs from me and woofs from Jeffie, Rudy and Rosie

    • Hi Sue,

      Rosie??? have to learn more. Thank you… Seems like so many people either have or know someone with a form of IBD… thank you so very much for your kindness, support , hugs, and woofs… (which of course make everything better faster!)

    • Hi Kate,

      Thank you so much. Truthfully, the food piece is most interesting for me… I look at it like a big puzzle. I so appreciate your support and with your breath of food knowledge, will not hesitate to ask for ideas when needed. 🙂

  3. I am so sorry to hear you have Crohn’s I have BMS, which is similar but not nearly as lethal as what you have but I can relate to you on the pain level. So glad you are back, and your boys are ready for the super bowl! It is good to have you back Lori, and Jetty and JJ must be over the moon!!!! kisses and hugs kirby and lea

    • Hi Lea,

      Oh my, you are so young to already deal with G.I. issues. I have had a sensitive GI track since I was young, so, you never know. I seem to have a milder version of Crohns as far as I can determine so far, thank goodness. Oh we are mutually over the moon to have Casa Jet whole again. Can’t wait to hold spa day tomorrow, JJ and Jetty are a smidge ripe! Hugs to you and belly rubs to Kirby!

  4. happy you are home but so sorry to hear about you being diagnosed with Crohn’s. As one with an autoimmune disease (Graves) and a chronic kidney condition, my heart goes out to you. I have a near friend who also has Crohn’s and she happens to be a Dietitian. She does online consults if you ever want to be connected. She has Crohn’s too and studied years ago to become a Dietitian in order to help her cope. She is super knowledgeable about food and Crohn’s. Sending love and ((((hugs))))))

    • Hi Caren,

      I’m learning so much, so many others have autoimmune (my Uncle has Graves) issues and IBD issues, quite something… Thank you for your kindness in sharing resources and good wishes (hugs are the BEST!) Luckily, I have a great deal of food knowledge as well, so, I’ll let you know if I need further guidance.

      We’re so lucky that we have furfamily members to provide daily therapy! 🙂

  5. Jetty pal, I can’t tell you how happy I am to see you, Miss L and JJ back in action…You have all been very much missed…Momz sez she understands that Miss L will be very busy for now and we may not get to see you all as much as we’d like, but we will look forward to every visit Today we’re sending big balloon bunches of *happyhomecomingsnoogles* to you all…Give Miss L a hug from Momz and a nose kiss from me

    • Hey Giz, Jetty here. Hi Miss JG.

      Mom asked me to send a giant sky balloon of thanks for your gift of support, snoogles (they heal a myriad (VBP) of things), kind words, understanding and hugs. We’re so happy to be able to write and let you know what’s going on. Have a great day. 🙂

  6. Thank you so much for posting…we were really getting worried about how you were doing and were thinking of emailing Snoopy to see if he had heard anything. Glad you are home and will be ok. Emma and her mom 🙂

    • Hey Emma, Jet here.

      Mom says to thank you and Mom so deeply for your concern and support. Yup, we’re taking good care of Mom, in fact, we just insisted on a 10 minute lovey break! This will be a process, but, we have full faith and confidence Mom will figure it out!

    • Hey Sheba, Jet here.

      Mom asked me to share a big thanks for your well wishes. Don’t worry, we’re keeping a CLOSE eye on her… we let her out of the house for work, (as we need her to earn the biscuit $), errands, and not much else right now!

  7. Welcome back.
    One of my good friend’s was diagnosed with Chrohn’s in grade 3 I believe (which would have been around 1983-84). She has now been in remission since the late 90s. She did have to have several surgeries as a child and she has to watch what she eats now, but other than that, things are good. I am confident you too will find the answer and way to live with this.

    Blog when you came, respond if you can. Your health and well being always comes first.

    Take care.

    • Hey Lee, Hey Phod, Jet here.

      From Mom: Oh, I’m so delighted for your friend. I, too, believe I will achieve remission quickly and then go on managing the situation. Thank you for your concern, caring, connection and understanding.

  8. We’ve missed you guys, I was thinking about you just yesterday and wondering how things were going. I was so happy to see your post in my email today, but not happy to read about your diagnosis. I hope you start to feel stronger and better soon. Your background in cooking will come in handy, and help you through this.
    Take care of your mom Jetty!!!

    • Hey Roxy, Hey Torrey, Jet here.

      From Mom: Hi Mary,

      Thanks so much for your thoughts, I so appreciate your energy. I’m actually relieved to know what’s been going on so I can move forward. I made a butternut squash/pumpkin soup today which after the immersion blender had a consistency Earth’s Best Baby Food would be proud of! All kidding aside, my bliss career as The Kitchen Counselor, definitely is a gift. 🙂

  9. Take it easy and take your time. I’m glad you have a good support group to help you out and check on you. That makes all the different in the world. Take care of your mom Jet. 🙂

    • Thanks so much for your thoughtful words and perspective.

      Oh, don’t worry, I’m keeping a close eye on her. Today, I made her stop her computer work TWO times for a lovey break. Then, Little Miss Cooking Show and I did some QC during cooking time! 🙂

  10. Lori, I’m sorry to hear about your troubles. I have several close friends and family members with Crohn’s Disease. It’s a life changing experience I know and if there is something we can do to help in anyway you just let us know. In the mean time good luck with your food experimenting and get your rest.

    Jet, you take good care of your mom and make sure JJ does the same!

    • Hi Emily,

      I cannot believe how many people experience Crohns first hand or through a loved one. If anyone in your world has links or references they feel strongly about, I welcome the education.

      Just had a power nap with Jetty and JJ, they felt I needed one so, I’m back writing my Servings newsletter for Tuesday after checking on Jetty’s post!

      Please give Boomer and Dottie belly rubs for me!

  11. Oh, Jet, Please tell your Mom that I am soooooooooooo glad she has returned to you in one piece! I was getting really worried about her. Good luck with the Crohn’s Disease. It obviously is a nasty thing, but now that she knows what it is and how to treat it, she’ll be able to get it under control and feel lots better. (I’m sure she does already.) Also, please tell her she does not have to reply to my comments or on my blog. Just rest, figure out a workable diet, give you plenty of lovies and TAKE CARE! Sending lots of hugs and warm, fuzzy, health-full thoughts to you all.

    • Hi Loy,

      I missed our communications, too. 🙂

      Yes, knowledge is power and I feel just that way. I love a good food challenge and I know that I can help others once I learn for myself. Learning to pull back will challenge me most, however, I’ve seen the red flag and I’m LISTENING!!!

      Thanks for your care, hugs, concern and understanding, it means more than I can express. Please give Y-Bo a belly rub for me and PtPt smooches!

  12. Welcome back! Sorry to hear about your diagnosis however 😦 Sounds like everyone was worried – the pet blogging community is so wonderful! Be sure to take it easy, which it sounds like you will be doing.

    • Hi Ann,

      I cannot express how deeply touched I was by the love, support, care and concern shown on Jetty’s blog. Yes, the pet blogging community as I’ve said so often has simply astonished me… had no idea it was out there and certainly no idea how kind, thoughtful and deeply connecting it is.

      Yes, I’m following “the rules”… I know I will achieve remission and then successful management. 🙂

      Hugs to the family fur and human!

  13. Lori, I am so glad you are back home with your babies! I know how you must have missed each other! I agree with Loy. Please do not feel like you have to comment back or visit our blogs like you used to. It was too kind to begin with! We all completely understand and wish you and your family the best! Coop and June send puppy kisses!

    • Hi Laura,

      Thanks so very much for understanding. I know how hard everyone works and their kindness and generosity when we all visit each other and leave comments… I’m allowing my pull back to be ok, however, I will confess, I’m still reconciling my feelings of not being respectful or appreciative in tangible ways.

      Please send Coop and June belly rubs for me, having built in pet therapy takes the cake!!!

  14. The world is always better when moms are home 🙂
    So glad you have your mom back Jet – I know you’ll do your best to remind her that recovery has to come before blogging, or responding to blogs. IRB means making adjustments – I’m glad she has you to keep her comforted.

    • Oh yes, I made Mom stop TWO times this morning for lovey breaks and Little Miss Snoozeroo and I demonstrated the art of power napping this afternoon. She then joined us for a proper napping experience.

      Thanks so much for understanding and sharing your warmth, support and concern, means more than I can write.

  15. So happy you are home with your babies! Sorry about your diagnosis, although I’m sure it is nice to have some kind of resolution. I doubt that there are many people that do not know someone with an autoimmune problem – my brother in law has Crohn’s but has been managing it very well since his diagnosis. Take good care of yourself and get better!!

    • Hi Julie,

      Oh, me too, I missed them to the moon and back. After their Spa Morning tomorrow, they will have their essential oils I love smelling, too! (They are a tad ripe at the moment!) I’m so incredibly grateful I can care for them as they require, I worried about that for a bit.

      Knowledge is power and knowing the diagnosis explains a lot and allows me to move forward. I love figuring out food plans for clients and I started with client #1 decades ago, ME!

      Thanks for your caring words, I promise I will. 🙂

  16. Hey Jets, Jack here. Dude I bet you and JJ are doing the happy dance even in your dreams now that your Mom is home. I’m glad your Mom is continuing your blog even if it is only a couple of times a week since I love hearing about Casa Jet, and you and the lovely Miss JJ. My Mom told me how much Miss Lori missed you and wished that you could visit. Take care of Miss Lori, she is the best. Manly chest bumps to you, kisses to the lovely Miss JJ and Mom send love and hugs to all.

    • Hey Jack, Hey Ginger, Jets here. Hi Miss Rebecca.

      Miss Rebecca, Mom said it was because of your conversation that she rethought her plans. Thank you, you helped her find ahem “my voice” again. Little Miss Dance Train has exhibited more of the happy dance behavior, I’ve kept my nursing eyes lasered on Mom. Dude, so pumped to send manly man chest bumps back and I’ll pass on your kisses to JJ if you would do the same for me and Ginger.

      I know Mom mentioned her appreciation of you, Miss Rebecca, however, Little Miss Where Did Mom Go and I want to thank you for all your calls to the hospital when we could not be with her. xoxooxoxxo

      • Hey Jet, Miss Rebecca here. You are so welcome but that is what friends are for, be they near or far. I personally passed your kisses to Miss Ginger and made sure she knew they were from you. She tried to be demure about them but I could tell she was very pleased. Remind your Mom to check out the info I sent her about transfer factor. Have a great weekend now that you are one big happy family again. Love, belly rubs, and ear scritches.

  17. Jen had a co-worker who suffered for years with Crohn’s, as did her daughter. It was sad to see them both suffer the way they did. But the good news is there are many treatment options, food options and medication options. I hope as go forward you will find a treatment that brings few bouts of sickness.

    • Hey Rumpy, Jet here.

      From Mom: Hi Jen,

      I feel quite positive and hopeful now that I finally know what I have. I do not know if it’s true or not, however, I feel like I do not have a severe case. I feel remission is within my grasp and management will become my new way of life. Believe it or not, I find I have more discomfort from the medicines than the underlying issues sometimes!

      thank you so much for all your care, concern, comments, and good wishes, they mean so much to me.

      Please give belly rubs and ear scritches all around!

  18. Oh Jetty we KNOW you’re so ecstatic to have your mom back home!! And Lori, like so many others, we have a family member with it. One thing to consider beyond diet is the water you consume. It may sound odd, but my cousin (who had to have parts of his intestines removed twice in the past 25 years) found he did so much better after they installed a whole house water purifier. (Not just drinking it but bathing too made a difference for him – but again, his case is extreme. Perhaps just making sure you drink purified water would be enough – and certainly worth trying!)

    Be well – and many purrs to you from the Herd!

  19. I’ve suffered with various forms of autoimmune disease over the years (latest is Raynaud’s) and my daughter has Crohn’s, so I know what your are going through. Just knowing helps so you can get proper treatment. We’re so glad you are back!!

  20. So glad you are back home, but very sorry about your diagnosis! I have a neuroimmune disease and have to eat only certain foods. Crohns is quite common these days, as is seen here in the comments! I am sure you will get all the help you need and hope it will soon be under control xx

  21. Hi Y’all!

    Jet, I am so happy that you have your Mom back. My Human says Crohns disease is not like the severe gastritis that caused my Human Papa to loose almost 20 lbs in less than a month…yep, clothes were a problem…it never really goes away…you just have to “manage” it.

    So happy that your Mom has “Long Life Cats and Dogs” to give advice. I’m really glad that you and the other Kitchen K9’s are right there to assist her.

    I know you’ll take really good care of your Mom, Jet.

    Y’all come by,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  22. I am so glad you are home and I know the critters sure did miss you. Don’t worry about visiting us, we will just be thrilled to see future updates. Love and hugs from all of us.

  23. Woof! Woof! Golden Hello! So happy to see n read a comment from you. We were traveling and was away from blogging for couple of days. So happy that your mom is home. Totally understand … mom can relate on being sick. Blogging helps out in away … We know that your mom will get the proper care and love. Sending Lots of Golden Healing Thoughts and Golden LOVE. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  24. Oh Dear! Chrones is a tough one! Our Mommy has irrititable bowel and has furrend who has Chrones. We sends yous many many healing purrayers.
    Kisses
    Nellie

  25. We’re glad your mummy is back and we’re sorry to hear she has Crohn’s. We’ve only a vague idea of what that is, so we’ll look it up. Keep her warm and loved, Jet! We send our best purrs to you all.

  26. Jet, do you feel the amazing love for your mom? So glad she is back to you. Lots of love and support being sent her way. I bet she felt better the minute she saw you. Give her big paw hugs for all of us.

  27. Hi there! So glad to hear that you are home from the hospital…not so good to hear about the diagnosis. I, too, suffer from a variety of autoimmune diseases, along with IBS. Sure hope you take it easy and rest as much as you can. Take it one step at a time. You have two lovely furbabies that will be there to help! xo Jeanne, Chloe and LadyBug

  28. Hi Jet, Marsa here.
    I’m so sorry to hear these bad news for your mom, but I hope to get well soon and these bad times become only bad memories for your mom. I hope to hear her saying “past and forgotten” for this illness with a big smile on her face. The smile of the winner.

  29. So glad to hear that you are out of the hospital! Typists mum has arthritos (you would think in that case she would be able to spell it right? *Roles eyes*) however she has found that managing her diet really helps, and typist also has a friend with IBS having spoken to both these people it is sometimes random stuff that can cause problems – like typists mum can’t eat green peppers, but can eat red and yellow, and her friend with IBS can’t have cucumber skin? Not sure if that will help any?!

  30. Wow Miss Lori, you have so MUCH support here, it actually brought tears to my eyes. What a wonderful, warm and caring group you have surrounding you, I think it’s just wonderful. I know between your knowledge and all the others here who have volunteered you will give that Crohn’s a kick in the teeth.

    Sending you lots of hugs and love.

  31. What a relief to know you’re back home Lori! We’ve been sending you healing thoughts and prayers and we know you’re going to get stronger and stronger every day. I’m going to read about your diagnosis on the link you sent; we’re on a special organic anti-inflammatory/leaky gut diet here, so if there’s any way I can share recipes with you, I’ll be happy to help!

  32. Hey Jetty. Hi JJ. I know you are two very happy doggies now that your mom is home! And I know you will take extra-special care of her while she recovers. *high paws*

    Hi Miss Lori. I am glad to hear that you are home now. I am so sorry for your diagnosis, but if there is anyone who can figure all this out, and share it with others, I know it will be you. Make sure you take it easy…and keep getting your rest. *Cairn cuddles*

  33. Hey Lori, Jet and JJ

    It’s so nice to see a post up from you guys!! I’m so happy your Mom is on the mend, you guys are the best doctors looking after her!! I also hope you’re all getting lots of snuggle time on the sofa and taking it easy 🙂

    Sorry JJ that the 49ers didn’t win, there sure was a lot of cheering going on here for them, I guess Jet was cheering louder for the Ravens!! Oh well, it was lots of fun anyway, and then I settled down after with mum to watch the puppy bowl 🙂

    Big hugs and wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    PS thanks for the mention, you’re too sweet 🙂

  34. I’m so glad you’re home with your babies. It looks like you have a strong community of dog friends, some with similar experiences who will make this path easier for you. Take it easy! We’ll still all be here.

  35. It’s BJ. Mom and I are very happy you are home. Hospitals are yuk. Plus it’s yuk to not be home with your “children”. I hope that the doctors have found a way to make you more comfortable and easier to live the way you want.

  36. I’m glad you’re home again – it must be lovely to be with the animals again. I hope that the changes you make to your diet will help you to feel better soon.

  37. I am glad your mom is finally home 🙂
    I have never heard of her disease before…I sure hope everything will be alright for her and everyone in your family Jet ((hug))

  38. With a family that has lived with Crohn’s and UC my whole life, I am sorry that you must endure this, but there is such wonderful medicine and treatment and support out there I am sure that you will find new ways. Email me anytime if you would like to chat off line about this (dogdazcats2@aol.com). It takes time to learn how to live with new limits, however, your furry pals will learn with you. Mine are having to learn too, because of the new no knees so no walks problem at our zoo. Keep up your spirits and make sure to join others for support. You are not alone with this disease. Looks like the Blog world has you covered in other ways. Blessing. – Lorian

  39. Hi Jet & JJ: So glad yer MUm iz back home!!!! Let her know we are thinkin bout her & hoping she findz wayz to deal wif da Crohn’z so she will not suffer alot!!!! Me Hum’Mum haz Irritable Bowel n dat iz not a pretty pickture sum dayz!!!! Me also haz Inflammatory Bowel Disease so me iz on Prednisolone tabs fer it n me Mum iz carefull bout what me eatz….
    Jet you lookz so fine in da Ravenz colorz!!
    Little Miss JJ doez look guud in da 49’erz colorz but it just wazn’t meant to be fer dem to win…..next year purrhapz????
    Lub ya, Nylablue n her Mum.

Leave a Reply

