Tasty Tuesday – Wonderful Water

Hey It’s Jet Here.

Happy and HEALTHY New Year.  Did you party, celebrate, let your fur down, cavort?  (VBP – using the meaning jump or dance excitedly for cavort, not the “other” meaning.)  Well, here at Casa Jet, getting through the night without stressing too much was a victory.

2013 fireworksWhen the fireworks began, Mom gave us special chew treats which kept us distracted fairly well until the stronger, more frequent booms began.  Mom then laid out an old comforter on the floor beside her bed, put her sleeping wedges on it, and watched TV while I mostly stayed panting heavily beside her.  I had protection from Mom, her bed and her bedside table.

Little Miss Barkarooni yelled at EACH and EVERY firework.  She barked from about 8 until 2 something when the fireworks began to subside.  How she doesn’t have laryngitis today, we don’t know!

Whoops, I digressed again…

waterAnyway, we selected water today, because it’s simply… essential.  After a night of panting and/or barking, water will re-hydrate our cells and make us feel better.  I woke Mom at 5 a.m. to ask for a bowlful and drank the WHOLE THING!

You know what I had to do by 6 a.m.!  Mom adds ice cubes to our water dish most of the year because the water exiting our tap measures lukewarm.  Right now, the water arrives in our bowl at a lovely cool temperature which Little Miss Agua and I find refreshing.

water w lemon limeMom says that many humans will need to rehydrate with refreshing water today, too.  Something about too much imbibing (VBP), rich foods, etc… She told us that lots of humans find H2O boring!  Huh?  She suggests adding a slice of lemon or lime, some of those new, all natural little flavor packets, or a splash of your favorite juice.

ginger tea If you prefer a hot beverage, no worries!  You can brew ginger, mint or chamomile tea which combines water with tummy helping plants.

Another great water-licious day!

Thanks to Sugar and Kol for initiating Tasty Tuesdays, today is our thirty-ninth participating post!

tasty tuesdays



50 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday – Wonderful Water

  1. We are water nuts, even mom drinks 2+ liters of the stuff a day. We don’t drink alcohol so we are up early and feeling good on the start of 2013! Actually, we went to bed at 10 but woke up at 12 to some boomers. Happy New Year and enjoy some water 🙂

    • Hey Emma, Jet here. Hi Katie.

      Mom doesn’t drink alcohol either… well, maybe once a year or so…

      Like that… water nuts… we are too! Another tough fireworks night here, so, we’re off schedule. 😦

  2. Aw Jetty sounds like it was a tough night at your house…We had lots of bigbangers going off from early to late all over da naberhood but Mom played moosic and I was OK. I love my water too…When we go hiking Mom always brings lotz of water fur me and we take water breaks whenever she thinks I need one. Have a happy New Years Day Jetty… *peace&quietsnoogles* to you, JJ and Miss L

    • Hey Giz, Jet here. HI Miss JG.

      Dude, we had another tough one last night… Mom couldn’t work on the computer. She tried the distractions, and… I did better than usual, however, I needed her full attention.

      Had a feeling you were a water guy with all the hiking you do!

      Can you tell the neighbors about the peace and quiet snoogles? We could use some! 🙂

  3. Happy New Year Jet!

    We are so happy to live where it is very cold and snowy, so we don’t get New Year’s fireworks. We wouldn’t like it.

    Our Lady basically just drinks water. She has tea (caffeine free in the morning) too. It is a big deal to have her drink something else. Last night to celebrate the New Year, she had a ginger ale. I thought the Man was gonna take a picture. She says to people who don’t like it, just to start drinking it and they will get use to it and feel better. Fruit is a good idea to help.

    Have a tasty Tuesday and awesome start to 2013!

    • Hey Lee, Hey Phod, Jet h ere. Hi Miss Lady.

      Oh, wish we had your situation… Little Miss Barkarooni is already barking at the booms and I’m alternating between mancave #2 and jumping up on Mom’s printer in zombie fear. Hope it doesn’t last as long as last night.

      Miss Lady? You and Mom are quite similar except she has her decaf tea at the biscuit earning place. People look at Mom funny when and if she orders anything other than water, too!

      Thanks, likewise. 🙂

  4. I am glad you made it through the fireworks okay! June is scared of them, too, so we made sure not to let her outside anytime near the fireworks…just in case! Happy New Year to you all!

    • Hey Cooper, Hey June, Hey Buddy/Bodhi, Jet here. Hi Miss Laura.

      We expect about another week of icky fireworks in the neighborhood, so… I’m trying to wear my big boy fur as much as possible!

      Wishing you a happy, healthy and abundant 2013.

    • Hey Texas, Jet here.

      Mom kept telling me how proud she was of me… we expect about another week and then hopefully, the fireworks will stop.

      Happy 2013 to all of you as well. Wishing you a year filled with happiness, health and abundance. 🙂

    • Hey Brian, Jet here.

      Glad some felines enjoy the fountains… Mom splurged the first year the fountain thingie came out for Puffy and Fluffy and they rebuffed (VBP) the contraption after the first few days… they were sinkmen!!!

      Thanks, we wish you a new year filled with health, happiness and abundance. 🙂

  5. H2O is very important! Mommy loves to drink plain water. She says it’s very refreshing! And we agree totally!
    We’re really lucky there weren’t too much noise on New Years Eve. In fact we were a little surprised but very happy. 🙂

    • Hey FOW, Jet here.

      Mom loves plain water, too… in fact, that’s pretty much all she drinks, just like us!!!

      So glad you didn’t have to deal with the booms… unfortunately, we probably have another week to go. The humans here love their fireworks. 😦

    • Hey Archie, Hey Henry, Hey Oscar, Jet here.

      Hope it was yummy! No worries, now you can do that hydrating thingie to begin to clean out the system!!! Wishing all of you a happy, healthy and abundant 2013. 🙂

    • Hey Sugar, Jet here.

      Happy, healthy and abundant 2013 my friends! 🙂 Hope you had a super great holiday.

      Your Mom and my Mom have lots in common… Mom’s a ginger person, too. 🙂

  6. hi Jet it is your friend Ruby. I read your blog I loved it.My brother has Aj over and my mom and Jayne are coming home tomorrow!!!yeah!!!miss you love you and hugs and kisses

    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo
    love and hugs
    ruby

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Ruby.

      Wowee wow wow! I’m so excited to see you visiting me on my blog! 🙂

      We saw Alex and AJ playing football… Little Miss All Sports wanted to play, too, however, the boys did not seem interested. Yippee, Mom and Jayne are coming home, give them some Jetty kisses and JJ hugs for us, too, ok?

      Thanks for all your lovies, they are the BEST. Sending you virtual Jetty kisses and JJ hugs xoxoxoxoxoxo

    • Hey Austin, Jet here.

      Dude, it’s already started again… why can’t the humans use up their inventory in one awful night? A puzzlement. (VBP)

      Wishing you a happy, healthy and abundant new year. 🙂

  7. Hey Jets, Jack here. Happy New Year to you, the lovely JJ and your wonderful Mom. I tried, like JJ, to bark each boom away. Lucky for Mom the fireworks were over by 12:30. Everyone went over to the neighbors about 9:00. My cousin Brucifer barked for a while but since Mom was not here to protect I settled down (Ginger only barks when I do). Mom came back to check on us. I heard her listening in the garage to see if we were barking or upset before she came in with 3 little tiny beef hot dogs for us to snack on. But all was quiet so she went back over to the neighbors. We are kind of sad because Aunt Val and Uncle Joe (Mom’s sister and brother) left today to drive back to Ohio. We had a really nice visit with them and the Brucifer. He didn’t sucker punch me once. Guess I scared him when I told him that my friend Jets had my back and he had better behave or I was going to call you.

    We got new stuffed animals, a big ball attached to a rope, some pull rings, and treats in our stockings so we must have been good doggies last year.

    Hope your itchies are better and your Mom is starting to feel like her old self.

    Mom sends hugs and kisses and wishes for a happy, healthy, and prosperous New Year.

    • Hey Jack, Hey Ginger, Jets here. Hi Miss Rebecca.

      Happy 2013 to you as well! Wishing you a HEALTHY, happy, and abundant New Year.

      Wow, you guys did really well… and hot dogs??? I must speak with the Kitchen Counselor about this! Sure, I had a humongous rawhide saved for special occasions… (we apologize for the interruption; firework just boomed and I’m freaking out.) Ok, back.

      Sorry that your Aunt, Uncle and Brucifer had to leave, I know how sad it is when family departs… so glad our “system” worked this time and Brucifer refrained from naughty behavior!

      Dude, you scored some good stuff! Of course you were fabulous, did you ever have a doubt?

      Well, my tail is coming along… slowly but surely. I’m quite patient about the spray cleaning part and the goopy medicine part. Mom’s kind of at a stalemate unfortunately… she will need to take some proactive steps as soon as they can be arranged. Thanks for asking.

      Uh… Jack? How is the fetching Ginger? Will she be able to join us at the reunion this year? We’ve never had the pleasure of meeting her.

      Sending Happy New Year Jetty kisses and JJ hugs plus belly rubs from Mom. Can’t wait to see you guys. 🙂

  8. Hi Jet,
    We live in the middle of nowhere and our neighbors to the south (across the Canada/US Border) we does have fireworks and guns being shot in the air for about 5 minutes. Our pawrents and lots of peoples in our village, goes out on their front porch and bangs pots! Us dogs all bark and it scares the resident deer!
    We think its lots of fun, but we knows what yous mean, we likes to cuddles with Mommy during the big thunder storms we has!
    Happy New Years to yous and your family!
    Kisses
    Nellie

  9. Have a Happy New Year Jet. I was at a bit of a loss when the fireworks began – Zac always took care of shouting at them! So I began to bark and The Producer told me to be quiet (though I think her words were ‘Shut up!’). It got boring so I stopped and Raffles and I went to sleep 🙂

  10. It’s BJ. I’m sorry that both of you don’t like fireworks and get scared. We are too far away from the fireworks for me to hear so I was in luck. Mom did very nice things to distract you, treats and a comforter. WOW! With any luck there won’t any fireworks until the 4th of July.

  11. I am a horrible water drinker! Honestly, I don’t like water and therefore I just don’t really want to drink it. And I don’t think I get that thirsty… drinking the suggested amount of water for a human a day would be so hard for me! Maybe I will start drinking more in 2013. Happy New Year. PS – I included you on a infographic I made about “cool pets”.

  12. hi jet it is ruby. miss you super duper much.happy new year or 2013

    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxooxooxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxooxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

    love and hugs
    ruby

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Ruby.

      I already miss you and I saw you last night! Ruby, the fireworks scared me a whole lot. Mom had to keep a close watch on me. 😦

      Sending you lots of Jetty kisses and JJ hugs, too. xoxoxooxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

  13. Hi Jet! Gracie and Henri and I miss you! Happy New Year! Yes, you are right, water is very very good for you. I try to sip a bottle while I’m drinking the stuff mommy doesn’t let you have. It helps!

  14. Eeoww Jet: Pleeze accept me humble apology (VBP) fer not gettin here sooner!! Between da hollydayz n Mum goin away, den her gettin sick…..well you get the pickture….
    Me lubbed da water blog!! Me haz me own cup n suacer of water on coffee table n me bowl of water in kitchen witch iz changed twice a day. Me also drinkz frum her water mug, yow, yow!!!
    Mum drinkz ALOT of water too!! She usez a BRITA filter in da 2 water jugz she haz. She told me it takez da chlorine n flouride out of da water n makez it taste way better!! She iz such a good Hu’Mum!!!
    Me did not cavort fer New Year’z az Mum went out wif Aunti Judith n da family fer supper n concert…she came home after 12…den we snuggled n me had treatz….Mum said she missed me so that made it OK!!!! (No fireworkz here thankfully).
    HAPPY NEW YEAR Jet!!! Lub Nylablue n Sherri-Ellen.

    • Hey Nylablue, Jet here. Hi Miss Sherri-Ellen.

      Wishing you a HEALTHY, happy and abundant new year.

      Now worries, ever… we’re not like that, ok?!

      Yippee, good to filter water, we have one directly in the fridge thingie…

      Glad your huMom celebrated so nicely and then you two snuggled later… It’s been rough, Nylablue… so far we only heard 3 fireworks tonight. Phew…

      • Oh Jet you iz such a gentle doggie!!! Fankz fer bein so nice bout diz!!!
        Me waz at da VET today n it waz a bit scary…..Mum waz worried bout me. She waz finkin bout DIABETEZ so me had to have a test done n iit iz negative!!!!!! 2 pawz up fer dat!!! Me Feline Herpes Virus iz actin up a bit; nothing major!!! Whew!!
        So pawz crossed diz iz gonna be a guud year fer me!!!
        Did you hear anymore of dem fireworkz last nite?? Me hatez dem too!!! Mum singz to me when dey go off n dat calmz me down 😉
        ~~head rubz~~ Nylablue.

      • Hey Nylablue, Jet here. Hi Miss Sherri-Ellen,

        Pshawww, no worries.

        Yippee, no diabetes! Sorry the Herpes thingie is acting up… perhaps some Jetty kisses and JJ hugs could help?

        Yes, paws and fingers crossed for all to have good health.

        No, thank heavens, first night without a firework… (we’re writing this Friday)

        🙂

      • Me got da Feline Herpes Virus from bein near another cat dat was was carryin da Virus….no one knew da Blackie cat was sick…he got sick 2 weekz after me waz at her house & den me got bery sick 3 monthz later n almost died….dat was 2009 Mum told me….wif me Immune system all messed up Mum iz bery vigilant (VBP) about anyfing amiss….sometimez a bit too much 😉
        She iz a guud Hu’Man tho’!!
        Oh yes Jetty kissez n JJ hugz will help fer shure!!!
        Paw patz fer you Jet. me iz relieved dere were no more fireworkz *shudderz to think of them*,
        Lub to you n JJ frum Nylablue.

  15. Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the internet the easiest thing to
    be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while
    people think about worries that they plainly do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out
    the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  16. Great post Jetty, I’m sorry you and Little Miss Barksalot had such a rough time on New Years. Thankfully we are far enough away that there weren’t too many fireworks for us.

    I usually drink nothing but water, but it can get boring. My Naturopath has turned me on to something called EmergenC, which has some great flavors and is chock full of vitamin C. Of course it wouldn’t be good for you and Miss Barkarooni, but it might be good for mom. 🙂

  17. Pingback: Follow Up Friday – Diamond Dog Edition | Hey… It's Jet Here

  18. Pingback: Vocabulary Building Project Blog Hop! Mystery Solved. | Hey… It's Jet Here

Leave a Reply

