Mischief Monday – The Sliding Scale

Hey It’s Jet Here.

Yesterday, we left you with a question, boy did we pique (VBP – vocab builder project) your curiosity.

Every time I celebrate my Gotcha Day, I have to visit Dr. Schaffer.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the attention Miss Judy gives me in the waiting area, along with the vet techs.  Sometimes, other families inquire about my heritage and want to give me lovies, too.  The downside, I know those pokes and prods are going to happen.  You know what I’m talking about, right?  Atypically (VBP – vocab builder project), JJ joined Mom and I this go round because Little Miss Itchy Ears needed yet another double ear check.

After our initial greeting, form signing and such, Dr. Schaffer came out to say hello.  Of course, Little Miss Professional Paw Shaker gave her usual enthusiastic shake infinitum!  I offered my manly man to manly man hello.  And then Miss Judy requested the weight checks for our charts. Mom rounded me onto the scale first and after two attempts, that nasty piece of machinery finalized at 82 lbs of Jettiness.  JJ, clocked in at her usual svelte 56. whatever lbs.

Miss Judy pointed out that last year, I weighed 75!  Mom concurred, stating that my harness had become a bit snug.  Ladies!  Really? In front of Dr. Schaffer and the vet tech?  Have a heart, weight is a sensitive issue for K9s, too.  Mom looked at Dr. Schaffer and told him that I eat less than Little Miss Scale Show Off unless someone is doing something she is unaware of.  Dr. Schaffer said he would see how my exam went and discuss the issue more.

Here’s JJ pretending to be invisible so as not to have her ears checked!  Dr. Schaffer, nimble and kind, met her in her hiding spot and declared her ears “on the right track!”  Now she’s on maintenance, whoo hoo!

Mom peeked through the window and snapped some photos of Dr. Schaffer doing the unmentionables and paying close attention to my cool racing stripes on my front paws.  When we returned to Mom and JJ, Mom mentioned that my stripes appeared over the last year.

Well, turns out that the stripes contain my PUPPY FUR!  We learned that puppy fur (when you’re older) can be a sign of hypothyroidism.  Dr. Schaffer asked Mom if it seemed like I gained weight on air.  Mom replied yes.  Tick off another symptom box.  Dr. Schaffer said he would run a blood test (already extracted, thank heaven) and let Mom know.  He said hypothyroidism is fairly common in middle age K9s with retriever heritage.

Well, it turns out my case is mild and I can take medicine to help.  I knew that scale thingie played Mischief on ‘ol Jetty boy!

Another great, weights and measures day.

Thanks to Alfie’s BlogSnoopy’s Dog BlogMy Brown Newfies and Luna, A Dog’s Life…for sponsoring the hop!  Click on any of the sponsors to join the hop.

87 thoughts on “Mischief Monday – The Sliding Scale

  1. Wow I am so pleased to hear it is nothing that will make you pawly sick!! (On a side note, typist completely misread most of that post and thought you had hypochondriacism!! – No idea how I cope with her I mean really!)

    • Hey Dalton, Jet here.

      Please let typist know that when that happens, it’s an obvious sign that she needs a BREAK!!! and… by break I mean either getting treats for you, taking you for a walk, or giving you a belly rub!!!!

      Mom’s still laughing… don’t get it…

    • Hey Austin, Jet here.

      Thanks, dude, me too. I’m generally a healthy eater… as you know from Tasty Tuesdays, I enjoy veggies and fruit and eat a very high quality kibble in proper quantities. I also receive a daily dental treat after the evening constitutional. That’s pretty much it. Except for spa days, when Mom gives us training treats in the shower!

  2. Racing stripes – you are so funny Jetty. Glad it’s nothing serious and that you can take meds to help. Glad JJ’s ears are “moving in the right direction” (although I’ve seen some dogs whose ears move in different directions and it can be quite cute 🙂 ).

    • Hey Lady Litchi, Hey Sabre, Hey Boks, Jet here. Hi Miss Susan.

      BOL… ears move in different directions…

      Thanks for your concern. Miss Mary Ann gave me the “racing stripes” idea. She’s really good at naming things.

  3. Oh Jet!!! The humiliation of it all! I am so happy that your case is mild pal….and I agree…Mom shouldn’t embarrass you about your weight but it wasn’t your fault! 🙂 Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  4. We hope it is nothing more serious. Our Lady always gets stressed when she hears about sick animals cause before us she had a really sick one (he got his baby hair back but it was because of the drugs he was on).

    Have a great day. Lee and Phod

  5. Jet, I’m so glad you are in good shape. And, the thyroid issue… don’t worry about it, we just found out a few weeks ago Boomer has the same problem and a small dose of meds takes care of it. Now, as far as them humiliating you about your weight… that’s another story!

    • Hey Boomer, Hey Dottie, Jet here. Hi Miss Emily.

      Wow, we’re finding out today that tons of my fellow retriever heritage pals have the same thingie. I don’t feel nervous about it now.

      Yeah, I think all the humans nationally, heck globally need to take a PC class in declaring weights and measures aloud in the waiting room! hmpf…

  6. Hey Jets, Jack here. Dude, I was going to tell you to tell them you were just bulking up in a manly man way. Hypothyroidism, my brother Elliot (OTRB) had that. His was mild too. He had to take pills (he loved pills) and would take them without treats. The pills were relatively inexpensive. Glad you are OK bro. My Mom says the only excuse I have (I tried the manly man stuff) is I haven’t been getting very much exercise due to her vertigo.

    • Hey Jack, Hey Ginger, Jets here. Hi Miss Rebecca.

      Yup, that’s what Miss Judy said, inexpensive and no big deal. Thanks for checking on me.

      Vertigo, that’s right… not good. Mom said when she had it, they couldn’t check for MIDDLE ear infection, however, eventually that’s what it was and her homeopathic $6 meds took care of it… (nux vomica 30x) Mom knows there are lots of other reasons, and she feels sad to read that Miss Rebecca still has it…

      If we didn’t live so far, we’d take you with us on our constitutionals! 🙂

  7. Hi sweet Jetty – my darn internet has been so fussy this week, sorry I missed posting some days.

    I was a little scared when seeing your post about you and JJ at the vet but so happy to hear her ears are getting better and guess what Jetty – both Miss Cassie and i have hypothrodism and take a daily pill to help. Hers is a very mild case as she never gained weight but had other symptoms. Thanks goodness nothing too serious for my favorite guy! WHEW!

    and I that nasty scale for making it look like you gained weight for no reason – thats some mischief!!

    love you xoxoxo

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      Mom was just shy of calling to make sure you were ok. Glad to know it’s the internet and not human/animal related.

      Yes, finally, JJ got cleared and is on ear maintenance.

      Really? I knew I would be in good company, we’ll discuss further at the GRSF reunion. Thanks for your care and concern… I will remain Jettylicious, no worries. 🙂

      Mom wondered if she could use that excuse, too!

      Sending thyroid to thyroid Jetty kisses to you, too… xoxoxoxo

  8. You had me on pins and needles there for a minute Jetty. Glad you are okay! Miss Delilah is on thyroid medication, has been since a month or so after her gotcha day, even so it was tough for her take off the weight but we managed it by the raw diet. She is now sleek and svelte and weighs in at about 72 healthy pounds. I know your mom, she will definitely help you with getting that weight off. 🙂 Kisses and hugs to you, mom and JJ.

    • Hey Sampson, Hey Delilah, Jetty here. Hi Miss Jodi.

      Thanks for the raw diet suggestion. You know I love my fruits and veggies! I like running more in the cooler weather, so, I bet that can help, too. Sending Jetty kisses, JJ hugs and hugs from Mom right back. 🙂

  9. Glad you survived your vet visit and your slight ailment can be handled with some meds. I just read over at Snoopy’s page that your mom is editing the mischief book – very cool Jet’s mom! We are so excited for the book to come out! Happy Mischief Monday 🙂

    • Hey Emma, Jet here. Hi Katie!

      Yes, no big deal… wonder if the meds will make my super cool racing stripes go away?

      Mom asked me to share a big thanks for your compliment. She’s been working diligently (VBP) to help Snoopy’s book ROCK. We want to make sure that bins and buckets of money go to help therapy dogs!!! Mom said … shhhh… everyone’s going to LOVE IT… Snoopy knows his Mischief! 🙂

  10. Great to know you are doing well Jet! you have such a great mommy that takes care of you…you know what? you open my eyes and I think I have to take Sasha to get her tested too…She’s 10 pds overweight and never thought about the thyroids…anyway…hugs to you!

    • Hey Sasha, Jet here. Hi Miss Lorena.

      Thanks, I love my Mom, she says I take equally great care of her as well. Sending Jetty kisses and JJ hugs right back.

      BTW, put your blog address in your comment so we can visit you, too! 🙂

  11. Oh my goodness, Jet!! My Cooper is the same way! He barely eats anything and keeps gaining weight. You have given him hope that maybe it isn’t our fault after all! Looks like a trip to the vet is on order for us! Have a happy Monday!

    • Hey Missy, Jet here.

      Mom says we continue to drive “to the end of the earth” to visit Dr. Schaffer, because she cannot imagine anyone else caring for her fur family. She’s taken her fur family members there for over 25 years now!

      Don’t tell Missy, but, when Mom would take Puffy and Fluffy *OTRB*, they were considered red zone because they kept biting. 😦

  12. Hello Jet, it’s Mistletoe….(sigh) and Hitch. We’re glad your appointment was helpful. Brady,the woofie who came before, was hypothyroid. He was on medicine for 10 of his thirteen years. It was funny that huMom is the opposite, hyperthyroid. They balanced each other out! It’s good JJ’s ears are getting better. Ears can be difficult to treat for some doggies. You both behaved very well at the vet. Your human must be very proud.
    Purrs to you!
    Mistletoe & Hitch

    • Hey Mistletoe, Hey Hitch, Jet here. Hi Miss Dorothy.

      Oh, Mom was proud of us… first because JJ did not “express” herself like the last two visits… I remained chilled out during the pokes and prods and we only tangled her up in our leashes one time while she tried to pay!

      OMD, one family member hypo, one family member hyper… an odd balance indeed.

  13. You should worry – our vet has the scales out in the corridor. So a doggy has to walk back out and through the waiting room to be weighed. Then the nurse shouts the weight to the vet. There’s no privacy!
    I’m glad they’re keeping a good eye on you.

  14. I’m so glad your problem is minor and manageable! Aren’t you lucky to have such a caring mom who notices unusual changes before they become worse! We’ll keep our paws crossed that there are no more “vet issues”. 🙂

    • Hey Daisy, Jet here.

      Thanks so much for your caring. Yup, Mom and I love each other to pieces; she takes great care of me and she says I do the same for her. 🙂 Nah, I’ll be fine, in fact… I’ll be Jettylicious!

  15. Hey Jet, So glad to hear your hypo-T can be controlled with meds. If you’re lucky, your Mom will give them to you wrapped in a neat little treat! (Unless of course, your pills already taste like liver–Yum!)

  16. I hope Jet and mom find out some happy results. My mommy went to school domestic animal health so knows all to well, about this hypothyroidism. I know you were already told Jetty, but mom says it is very common in older retriever mixes so not to worry too much :), with a bit of extra care you’ll still be the same ol’ Jet!

      • Oh middle age, I just knew it wasn’t the youngings that get it, it definitely makes sense middle aged ones would…..these are the reasons Im glad I’m no doc, would be getting all my information tangled up! He sound like he definitely knows his stuff!:)

      • Hey Kirby, Jet here.

        Oh yes, we love Dr. Schaffer… except for the pokes and prodding part… I’m doing really well on my meds, I take them cooperatively. Little Miss What am I Missing is kind of jealous!

  17. So glad there is medication that can help. It is no fun being sick. It is so good that we have doctors that can help us live long and happy dog lives. Stay well. – Lulu Belle

  18. Hi Jet…Gizmo here…my mom’s dog Bruno had same thing and meds helped a lot…good that you caught it so early so you’ll get all fixed up soon…and no fair them talking about your weight…you look lovely to me 🙂

    wish i could see a picture of those racing stripes…they must be very interesting *snoogles*

    • Hey Bunny, Jet here.

      Since you are slender and sleek, you undoubtedly have no idea about the embarrassment of scales… Thanks for your care, I’ll be just great… yup, that scale is CRAZY… like a fox!

  19. So glad they picked up the hypothyroidism before it got too far and made you feel too uncomfortable. I know Zac was embarrassed by the scales when we went to visit the vet. I have never had that problem 🙂

    • Hey PZ, Jet here. Hi Raffles.

      I am not surprised that you have no scale issues, as royalty always seems to look fit and trim! You and Princess Kate are both fetching in my eyes! 🙂

      Thanks for sharing about Zac, so I know you know how I felt. Yup, I’ll be as good as new with the medicine, thanks for your care and concern.

  20. Oh Jet,

    You sure are a big guy!! And you’re not even eating extra treats – doh!

    I’m even lighter than svelte JJ – I just weighed in at 52lbs last week, everyone thinks I’m bigger, it’s a fur thing!! 🙂

    I’m happy to see, or rather not see any thermometer on your visit – phew!!

    Got my paws crossed for good results dude!!

    Big wags to all of you,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hey Snoopy, Jet here.

      Wowee, Snoop, would have guessed you were manly man bigger than me! I kept telling everyone it was a fur thingie, too… apparently, I was uh… a bit incorrect!

      Dude, I would only let Mom take CERTAIN pics in the lab, a guy’s gotta keep his dignity! 🙂

      Thanks Snoopy, I’m confident I will be healthy as a horse as they say. And… with the yummy fruit you sent me yesterday, I’m off to a great start. 🙂

      Sending Jetty manly man chest bumps to you. 🙂

  21. Hey Jet!
    Looks like you were REALLY good at the mischief makers. I think you should call mischief on the vet! They’re always naughty with their prods and pokes! *wag wag wag*

  22. Pingback: Thankful Thursday – It Finally Happened | Hey… It's Jet Here

  23. Pingback: Follow Up Friday – Weighty Issue Edition | Hey… It's Jet Here

  24. Aw, hey Jet, sorry to hear you had such an embarrassing experience at the vet. Don’t those ladies know you can HEAR them talking about you? 😉

    But I’m glad to hear they figured out what’s going on with you. Bella takes a pill for hypothyroidism as does her mom. Your mom and doctors will want to watch you because over time, the dosage you need can change but it’s still pretty easy to manage. Hope you’re feeling better in no time!

    (And I second wanting to see pictures of your ‘racing stripes’!)

    • Hey Bella, Jet here. Hi Miss Leslie.

      Exactly Bella, it’s quite a delicate subject. Mom visited Miss Judy today to fetch my medicine. She mentioned that in the future, if Miss Judy could whisper the numbers, that would be preferable. 🙂

      Yes, Mom already made a follow up appt.

      Ahh.. we’ll work on the racing stripes. 🙂

  25. Pingback: Our Eleventh Black & White Sunday – Racing Stripes | Hey… It's Jet Here

Leave a Reply

