Moms Hands Were Busy

Hey It’s Jet Here.

Well, we’re late posting again and … well… uh… JJ and I must take responsibility.  Here’s what happened.

We’ve had naughty storms the last three days and you KNOW how we feel about storms.

  • Tuesday: I would not leave the edge of the garage to “empty the tank” or anything else from 2 p.m. until 2 p.m. Wednesday.  Bless her heart, Mom tried everything and even whispered permission to “do what was necessary to be comfortable” in my ear.
  • Tuesday/Wednesday night: JJ barked, unmade Mom’s bed, whimpered and shook from about 1:30 a.m. until we don’t even remember when. I hunkered down in Mancave #2.
  • Wednesday morning: I made it one block for one quick “empty the tank” and then did a forceful U-turn right back to Casa Jetty as the booms began.  I really should be a Weather K9! (Note to self: look up meteorology at Scooby Doo Academy.)  I remained safely inside while Little Miss “I’ll take my constitutional like the mail carriers, through wind and rain and sleet and snow!” and Mom took an abbreviated walk in mild thunder and occasional lightening.
  • Wednesday afternoon: Ah… brief moment of sunshine, made up for some lost “emptying the tank opportunities.”
  • Wednesday evening: Repeat of Wednesday morning, more or less.
  • Wednesday late night: Desperation hit ‘ol Jetty boy and I allowed Mom to cajole (VBP) me into a super speedy side of the house major “empty the tank” visit after pacing for about five minutes while Mom said encouraging words.
  • Thursday morning: Woke Mom up at 5 a.m. and suggested an earlier than usual breakfast.  Mom gave in (15 min.) because she knew that this meant I was ready to take a walk and knew I had many missed elimination opportunities to make up for. Patient Mom.  I was this thingie called obstinate at the corner by Max’s house.  Mom allowed us to cross the street to see if she could distract me.  We crossed back 3 houses down in order to deliver Miss Mary Ann’s paper.  I planted myself like a sequoia and thought we would 180 back home.  Mom practiced distraction + patience and walked around the next house’s dumpster, and we took refocusing breaks when needed.  Two houses after, I was back to myself and we completed a most fruitful walk, if you know what I mean.

As soon as Mom went to transcribe my post, the sky opened up again.  JJ crawled on top of Mom, I climbed on the CPU and printer at equal intervals and well… Forget the possibility of Mom taking pictures! Mom’s hands were busy!

Another great, please make the weather better, day!

15 thoughts on “Moms Hands Were Busy

  1. Sounds like a real mess and your mom is most likely worn out! We have no issues with doing our business in any weather, the only issue we have is if my sister gets sick in the night – she likes to eat stuff on the street and has a fairly touchy stomach so that happens from time to time and it totally wears mom out. Hope your weather straightens itself out!

    • Hey Emma, Jet here.

      Yes, we all needed an extra snooze here and there. JJ and I catch up mainly when Mom is out earning the biscuit $. Well, actually, we catch up when Mom snoozes too!

      Puffy is the fursibling with the touchy stomach in Casa Jet, he “loses his cookies” quite often and sometimes in the middle of the night! Sorry to hear about your sister… tummy upset is no fun.

      Well, truthfully Emma, this weather lasts about half the year, some days are stormier than others!

    • Hey Scout, Hey Ash, Hey Teddy, Jet here.

      We’re most grateful for the water and so wish we could twitch our whiskers and send some your way for sure. It’s the booms and streaky light stuff we could do without! 🙂

  2. Hi sweet Jetty – I hear ya buddy – what the heck with the storms? every afternoon Cassie goes nuts with the torrential rain, house rocking thunder and crackling light show? what gives????? She, like you, if she really has to will do a quick pee-pee on the side of our house then runs right back in.

    I hope your sweet mom gets an extra snooze in – Mr. David is home sick today with a little tummy bug so I;m off to make more tea!

    sending storm free goodnight hugs and kisses to you, JJ, Mom, Rachel and Puffy xoxoxo

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      Oh please send extra Jetty kisses and JJ hugs to Cassie, with a few of those sent on to Mr. David. There is a tummy bug working it’s way around our counties… 😦

      Mom did get to snooze with us a bit this morning, she’s feeling much more rested. 🙂

      I finally dared, with much encouragement from the ladies (Mom and JJ) to slip out the garage, exit sharp left and empty the tank about 15 minutes ago.

      Please Miss Wendy, can you make the sky quiet tomorrow from 6-7 a.m. so I can take a much needed morning constitutional?

      Sending tons of Xs and Os to Casa Miss Wendy. xoxoxoxox

  3. Pingback: Winchester the Weathervane and other Tidbits | Hey… It's Jet Here

  4. Oh my goodness!!

    You’re having such and awful time of it guys – I’m sending you big wags ‘n’ hugs!!

    You’ve sure got a strong bladder, I thought I did but I sure can’t last THAT long!!

    Here’s hoping the weather improves for you really soon,

    Stay brave buddy,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hey Snoopy, Jet here.

      I think my bladder has strengthened over time, because Mom worries and tells friends how amazed she is. I got out late last night after 4 failed attempts. JJ and Mom held my paw, so to speak… Mom told me how brave I was, how I could do it, how much better I would feel and JJ paralleled me, keeping me in check until I at least left the garage.

      Thanks for the wags and hugs, appreciated and needed! 🙂 We hope so too… because “H” season still has 3 months to go. 😦

  5. Oh dear Jetty, you poor thing. I can’t even say that it would be better for you to visit Sunny South Africa, as our weather has just turned from beautiful, warm, sun-filled skies to rain, thunder and hail! I do hope, for your sake, that the thunder remains here and starts to ignore you. Luckily for me, none of the zoo here seem to be bothered by the thunder (although I do fully understand how you feel as my previous Dalmation was as terrified of it as you are). Good luck and I hope the sun remains with you.

    • Hey Litchi, Hey Box, Jet here. Hi Miss Susan.

      Oh your wishes are so sunny. We have until 11/30 before “H” season officially ends. Then I return to my happy-go-lucky self. 🙂

      Hail Miss Susan? Wowee, we get that every now and then as well. Thanks for thinking of me.

    • Hey Texas, Jet here.

      We had a small reprieve yesterday. I was able to get out for my a.m. and evening constitutional. My midday tank emptying… well… I was a unwilling to leave the house. 😦

      Never had a doubt in my mind!

Leave a Reply

