Them Bones…

Hey It’s Jet Here.

We have a bone to pick chew with our neighborhood gardeners.  We’ve written about this subject before, however, last night, the subject arose again.

JJ, Mom and I ambled (vocab builder) down the street towards the corner where we often meet Miss Mary Ann and Dixie.  I like to stop off at the house before the corner, formerly known as the haunted house. (Rachel gave the house that moniker (vocab builder) when the prior owners lived there.) Four humongous trees stand at intervals of about 6 feet, give or take, surrounded by bushy green plants called spiders. (EWWWW, that’s a goofy name.) The plants reach the perfect height for emptying my tank.

Anyway, I pulled Mom to the right to signal my preference for the second tree.  Instead of the usual “empty the tank” stance, Mom noticed my whole head disappeared into the spider web! (the plants, not the real type of web!)  She thought I found a gecko and continued talking to Miss Mary Ann as she and Dixie approached us from the corner.  When Mom registered that my head went missing, she gave a tug and up I popped with a buried treasure – a chicken bone!  Mom rushed over and I dropped it before she had to open the jaws of Jetty!  She complimented my behavior and off we went.

She told Miss Mary Ann how frustrated she felt because the various gardening crews (the picture is just an example, not our neighborhood!) continue to leave chicken bones in all of the neighborhood yards which signaled to this fine K9 – Dig for buried treasure!  I know, I know, chicken bones can be perilous for us K9s, Mom’s looking out for my safety, Mom gives us safe bones at home, blah, blah, blah… give a guy a break!  Them bones are good!

Another great buried treasure day!

Thanks to Life With DogsConfessions of the Plume and Two Little Cavaliers for hosting the Saturday Blog Hop.

31 thoughts on “Them Bones…

    • Hey Sugar, Jet here.

      Exactly Sugar, that’s why Mom’s upset… we have at least 4 nearby places to purchase chicken for lunch, I think each crew probably has their favorite…

  1. Pingback: Take A Hike | GBGV « mygbgvlife

  2. We have a chicken bone problem around us as we live near several fried chicken places. Mom and Dad are always on alert, a few times the squirrels have dropped chicken bones in the yard.
    Sigh! Mom is telling us to stick to antler chews

    urban hounds

    • Hey Urban Hounds, Jet here. Hi Miss Kate.

      Hmpf… no fun, although I might enjoy the sight of raining chicken bones!!! I love to chase squirrels, too, so, double fun! (not for Mom…)

      Mom supports your Mom, stick to the antler chews, we like them as well. 🙂

  3. Weird. Why do they leave chicken bones in the yard? Are they eating lunch there or doing it on purpose in hopes that some unsuspecting dog chokes on it?

  4. Yikes! Chicken bones are bad bad bad! You never know what you are going to find in the bushes. Zachary stuck his head in one once and came nose to nose with a very unhappy kitty.

    • Hey Zachary, Hey Henry, Jet here.

      Dudes, I know they are bad, bad, bad, but… they seem so good, good, good!

      OMD! BOL… a kitty huh? Mom says that one of these days, I’m going to stick my head in a bush and a critter will try to bite my nose!

  5. Hi sweet Jetty – YUP we have the exact same problem in our development – I can’t tell you how many times I have had to force my hands (almost minus fingers) down Miss Cassie’s throat
    (which is clenched tighter than a vice) to retreive the chicken bones!! There are so many of them around – so dangerous!!

    Sending happy Saturday night goodnight hugs and kisses to you, JJ, Mom, Rachel and Pluffy

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      I knew you would understand. Mom does the same thing, although after years together, I do not fuss as much.

      Sending happy good morning Jetty kisses and JJ hugs to you, Mr. David, Jacob, Cassie, Rex and Barkley xoxoxo

  6. Wow.. those spiders are huge…we get small ones in the UK..No chickie bones in em!!! Yooo’s watch out for dem bones…day splinter and get’s stuck in ya froat..
    Have a great day
    Hugs Mollie x

    • Hey Mollie, Hey Alfie, Jet here.

      Mollie, in the tropics, foliage grows like crazy! I know, (said with dejection (vocab builder)) they’re dangerous… it’s just… well… they’re so tasty and fun!

      Thanks Mollie, you too! xo

  7. JUST SAY NO TO ANY BONES! Jetty, never, ever, chomp on bones!! Very dangerous for you doggies!!! Trust your Mom…open those Jetty Jaws of Chomping and let Miss Lori remove what ever is in there!!….be safe my Champion…peeEss…did ya see what Austin called me in his comments on my Friday post…he called me “BABE”!!!….OH MY CAT!!…

  8. I’m so glad mom was there to notice what you were up to before you got yourself in trouble, Jetty! I know they smell delish, but they are so so bad for you and you are very lucky that you have a mom who cooks for you so I’m pretty sure you get a decent amount of treats. 🙂

    • Hey Sampson, Hey Delilah, Jet here. Hi Miss Jodi.

      I know Miss Jodi, but, gosh, they are so tempting. Mom’s big on dental treats, fruits and veggies… not so many cookies… she said that’s because we can’t run around outside much now (too hot)… My tummy feels full most of the time… I occasionally sneak a no-no…

Leave a Reply

