Mischief Monday – Snap, Crackle, Pop!

Hey It’s Jet Here.

Well, finally, we have some non-house related mischief.  Last Thursday, we leashed up as always, JJ’s pink leash clipped on her collar and my manly man blue/white leash clipped to my heavy duty blue harness.  We exited left for our evening constitutional without Mary Ann and Dixie, since they both were that thingie called “under the weather.”

We made a right, then a left, crossed over the canal, then practiced waiting at the stop sign, crossed the street, made a left and trotted straight as usual, when I may have pulled a smidge to look at a clump of flowers to empty my tank on.  All of a sudden, Mom had a limp leash unattached to yours truly!  My sniffer, busy at its task, did not notice the lack of connection.  Mom later told Mary Ann she felt scared that I would bolt.  This particular street has more traffic than ours and a few of the others we visit, so, you can imagine her concern.

Keeping her nerves in check, she subtly quickened her pace to match mine while keeping JJ in a normal rhythm.  Within two houses, she grabbed my harness and told me what a good boy I was.  (Mom, like I didn’t know already???) Luckily, JJ’s leash has two segments, a four foot connected to a two foot.  Mom disconnected the two foot piece and quickly reconnected the four foot segment to JJ’s collar.  I continued to remain reasonably still while Mom hung on to my harness’s double D rings.  She figured out some way to use the two foot segment to clip onto my D rings and double hitched the rest to my blue leash.

The scents after the rains distracted me from noticing any differences and off we went to complete our circuit.  We have a spare leash (purple) at home, however, the style hurts Mom’s hand a tad.  We’ve investigated new leashes and so far came up with Mountain Dog Leash (blue of course) from Olive Green.  We like the idea of JJ’s leash, however, it’s shredded a lot in a short time.  Considering how easy JJ walks on her leash, we consider it a negative of the leash, although Mom LOVES the handle.

Any suggestions???

Another great, except for the broken clip, day.

Thanks to Alfie’s BlogSnoopy’s Dog BlogMy Brown Newfies and Luna, A Dog’s Life…for sponsoring the hop!  Click on any of the sponsors to join the hop.

33 thoughts on “Mischief Monday – Snap, Crackle, Pop!

  1. Hmmm…we use the 8 meter flexi leash for our weight and have not had any problems. I am small but my sister is 80 pounds and can really pull. Mom likes the handles and once she got used to using them she hates our other 2 meter leashes that are too constraining. We walk a lot on leash – at least 2 hours a day so they are well tested. Emma

    • Hey Emma,Jet here.

      Wow, 2 hours??? you lucky K9s! Our friend, Neve, uses a flexi-leash, the Moms look really funny untangling us when we say hello! Thanks for the recommendation… 🙂 You’re quite thoughtful.

    • Hey Roxy, Hey Torrey, Jet here.

      I know, that’s what Mom thought, she had a big gratitude sign in her heart after that walk!

      No worries, check out the thursday post! We have trouble keeping up, too! 🙂

    • Hey Snoopy, Jet here.

      Phew is right!

      Mom asked me to share that she is sorry and glad at the same time that your Mum understands. Mom likes Mr. Caesar a lot, so, she will check into that right away. 🙂

      Have a great day yourself!

  2. Wow you guys really dodged a bullet there – I would never have been as good as you, Jet. I usually keep my leash pretty taut so if it failed, I would know and I’d run all over creation, even though Mom keeps telling me it’s dangerous to do that. ::sigh:: I guess I need lessons from you! 🙂

    • Hey Daisy, Jet here.

      Before JJ arrived and I was the young guy in the pack, I was a super bolter! Now that Jumpin’ JJ has taken over the hyper part of the pack, Mom says I’ve mellowed a bit. Truth be told, Mom was scared, however, she felt that if she didn’t maintain calm, I would pick up on it and take off. Mom agrees with you completely about dodging the bullet thingie. 🙂

    • Hey Teddy, Jetty here. Hi Miss Lisa.

      Oh Miss Lisa, I love when my friends call me Jetty. 🙂

      Teddy, dude, you tell that little yappy dog who’s alpha boy! Yup, glad you took care of that, played and got a nap in… great day!

  3. I’m sure I would have smelt something delicious….. hehe…

    You were good to hang about and not cause too much mischief! 🙂

    xo
    Luna

  4. Our dogs broke more leashes and collars than I know how to count. One time at a hunt test Storm actually broke a chain link training collar right through the links. Thunder has broken them, but the ring, not the links. The mark went off and Storm sort of jumped and pulled and snap…she was running toward the field. It is not like she was hurting her neck or anything, it was just the right amount of a sudden pull…lol. Luckily she came right back when called. We use leather leashes because they seem to be the most durable.

    It is a good thing both you and JJ are such good walkers that your Mom was able to re-hook you so easily. But that is excellent mischief!

    • Hey Storm, Hey Thunder, Jet here. Hi Miss Linda.

      OMD! That must have been quite something to see. Mom’s Aunt and Uncle used leather leashes on their golden, Brandy, when Mom was young. They still have it as a memento, years and years after Brandy crossed the Rainbow Bridge.

      Yes, for the most part, we walk well… except for the C-A-T crossing the road or the S-Q-U-I-R-R-E-L on the telephone wires! 🙂

  5. I know how scared your Mom must of been! That happened to us once when we were in the ring at a dog show! The clip on Leroy’s leash just snapped and broke, from then on we use a leash that ties on, but that is a show lead, not sure if they are available in regular walking leashes.

    • Hey Leroy, Hey Sherman, Jet here. Hi Miss Jenn.

      Uh oh, that must have been awkward! We received a few good recommendations today… we so appreciate our blogfriends. 🙂

  6. We always use a 6 foot leather leash with our guide dog pups. It has 2 clips that make it adjustable just in case you want to make it a little bit shorter for training. You have to be careful because some pups like the taste of leather.

    Happy Monday!
    Colby

  7. My leash has never come off, but I’ve pulled it out of my person’s hand a few times – usually when I’m trying to get to another dog – so I never go very far.

  8. Oh Dear Jet!! I could of lost ya big guy!! Not Good!! So no one will like or agree with my Mom…but she used to train her Sibes and some other dogs, and one of her Sibes won her CD and CDX…so my Mom says there is no substitute for a 6′ leather leash…even when walking two dogs…the 6 ‘ length is enough for sniffing but can be quickly realed in and snuffed up tight in danger or need of control and safety…and the leather breaks in over time and gets really nice and soft…Mom used her leather leash on Mischa for 14 years…and she was the CD and CDX champ! so that’s IMHO

    • Hey Savvy, Big Guy here.

      Gosh, you Mom sure had a lot of experience with her sibes… and accolades (vocab builder!) Please thank her for the recommendation… paw pats to you!

Leave a Reply

