Don’t Mention the “H” Word, PLEASE!

Hey It’s Jet Here.

Mostly, I’m a guy who lives in the moment, not worried about the calendar. I divide the year into seasons with booms and streaky lights and extra great seasons without booms and streaky lights.

Here in the tropics, the humans mark their calendars on June 1 because that begins the … gulp… should I say it?… picture me putting paws over my eyes and ears… HURRICANE SEASON. They make sure they have this thingie called a Hurricane box or a spot in their living location with extra:

  • Water
  • Canned goods
  • Candles
  • Batteries
  • Flashlights
  • Medicine
  • Pet supplies
  • Canisters of propane for the outside grill if appropriate
  • Generators – (if you’re lucky)
  • Access to your old land line phone
  • Gas in your car
  • Wood, WD40, Hurricane shutters – whatever is appropriate for your living situation.
  • Gasoline for your chainsaw (if you have one… we do not, picture Mom with a chainsaw… yikes!)

They name these Hurricane thingies using human names. Personally, I think that idea is kind of silly because then, if it’s a super bad storm, everyone has a bad feeling about a human carrying the same name. The only upside of living in a targeted Hurricane zone is that we get notice.

They say four legged creatures feel the change coming before the humans. So far, I’ve been lucky, no Huh-Huh-Hurricanes have hit my area since living with Mom. As many readers know, I suffer during typical thunder storms, so, I cannot even bear to think about the “H” kind. I think I’ll let Mom do all that preparation stuff and stay in the moment… Jet? Yes Mom? May I write something? Sure Mom. Thanks Jetty.

I make sure that I have a few extra special chewy treats (like bigger than normal bones, hooves, antlers) , homeopathic storm medicine, Benedryl for desperate measures, the pheromone spray, the Thundershirt, and anything else I can think of to help Jet and now JJ pass the storm and subsequent craziness the best way possible in the situation. What else can you do?

Another great, hopefully easy “H” season.

12 thoughts on “Don’t Mention the “H” Word, PLEASE!

  1. hoping that the “H’s” stay away from you this year. I guess every area has something, you have the “H’s”, we have the threat of tornadoes and bad winters!
    Stay safe!
    Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    • Hey Dakota, Jet here. Hi Miss Caren.

      Thanks, we do too! It’s kind of hard to root for us knowing that it means another area might get slammed. It’s an uncomfortable situation to say the least. We get tornadoes, too unfortunately as well as these crazy thingies called water spouts which are upside down tornadoes over bodies of water. Mom’s actually seen fish flung from the spouts!

      Oh gosh Dakota, that’s so sweet… sending Jetty kisses and JJ hugs back!

  2. Hello Jet! I was just checking all of our supplies as well– we need some more batteries! We’ve been pretty lucky with the big H season lately, but we’re going to keep our fingers and paws crossed!!

    Hope you have a wonderful week!

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Deanna.

      Yup, we got this really cool radio thingie called an ETON which can charge your phone (you crank it) and it has a light, too. Mom said the same thing… btw… did you see that we passed on an award to you last Friday? Check it out, you deserve every bit of it. 🙂

  3. Oh Big Guy…I had no idea you were in the hurricane zone…and bro’, make sure they take care of you and JJ first! As you may know, I live in earthquake country…and my Mom and Dad have NOTHING prepared for me!!!! Totally unacceptable and I will remedy that this week…miss you bud, paw pats, Savvy

    • Hey Savvy, Big Guy here.

      Yup, it’s a big fat BUMMER! Gosh, Savvy, I didn’t know that… gosh, Mom’s experienced a few little ones she just told me in places called, St. Louis, and Utah. Oh yes, PLEASE, Savvy, remind Mom and Dad to prepare… hopefully you’ll NEVER have to use your preparations, but… just in case…

      Miss you too Savvy, paw pats right back at ya…

    • Hey Storm, Hey Thunder, Jet here. Hi Miss Linda.

      Guys, your names are perfect for this post! Mom … well… I love her to bits, however, organized is not usually a word associated with her. She does have most of the essential preparations though… nothing fancy. Thanks, we hope we don’t need them either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

