Let ‘Em Have It, We’re So Scared!

Hey It’s Jet Here.

Last night, we met Miss Mary Ann and Dixie at the very end of their walk and the middle of ours.  Miss Mary Ann is an amateur meteorologist and told Mom to expect BIG storms last night.  She showed Mom the weather map from her snazzy phone.  She and Mom hoped the booms and streaky lights would not bother us too much.

Around 2:00 a.m. ish… the sky did this thingie called, “open up”,  booms, streaky lights, raining “cats and dogs!”  (What a silly human saying.) etc… Luckily for Mom, a new blue tarp sits on the roof above the kitchen, so for a change, we did not have puddles and plaster to greet us this morning.  I digress.

At the sight of each streaky light, JJ barked her Kathleen Turner pitched bark, letting those streaky lights know who’s boss.  Then she paced in no particular pattern all over Mom’s bed… and Mom, her innards shaking like a live wire.

If you’ve read my posts for a while, you know how I suffer with loud noises.  I tried JJ’s new barking technique, however returned to my pawing up the wall, knocking everything off Mom’s side table, trying to find my safe place etc…

Mom, good sport that she is, tried to drown out the noise with SportsCenter.  (She figured she could catch up on NBA Playoff results… except they talked too much about baseball.)  Then she tried CNN, in case we needed to catch up on world events.  (We were not impressed.) Mom tried to pet JJ into a calmer state, (no luck).  Finally, at some point, we all passed out.

This is going to be a LONG rainy season…

Another great, until today’s thunder storms, day.

23 thoughts on “Let ‘Em Have It, We’re So Scared!

  1. My brother Bandit freaks out in storms too. Mom finally got him a Thunder Shirt and it works like a charm…no more long raining nights for us!!

    ~Higgins

    • Hey Higgins, Jet here.

      Great suggestion… except… we tried it… we were one of the first to get one in the neighborhood about a year ago… while I looked dashing, my behavior stayed the same. 😦 Any other ideas??? Mom’s open to all of them!

  2. Hi sweet Jetty – YUP terrible night here also – was up with a super frantic Cassie since 3 – we need some sunny days! sending Mom I hope she can catch a nap wishes ! xoxoxo

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      We were afraid you might respond like that… so sorry for Cassie…

      Mom caught 35 minute nap this afternoon… 🙂 HOpe you and Cassie have an easier day too… so far, so good…

      Sending Jetty kisses and JJ hugs… extra ones in fact to you and Cassie… xoxoxoxoxxo

  3. Lately I’ve been seeing lots of posts about “Through a Dog’s Ear is the only clinically researched auditory solution for canine behavior issues.” It is supposed to have a calming affect. Not sure how it would work.

    I’ve also heard make a safe spot in the closet, include fan, music water, blankets. Start doing this when there is no storms. Go inside with the pet, lots of treats, soothing music only good things happen there. Eventually it should be a safe place for your pet to go when they are scared. Just a thought. 🙂

    • Hey Sampson, Hey Delilah, Jet here. Hi Miss Jodi.

      Mom asked me to share that you are one smart cookie! Dr. Shaffer suggested the same (along with ear muffs – for REAL)… I have a man cave in Mom’s office and Mom’s closet… if I go in there… it’s only for minutes at a time… unless… Mom joins me!

      Ooohh… that other thingie sounds interesting… I also have a pheramone spray thingie…

      • Does the pheramone spray work? I’m lucky because neither S nor D is afraid of storms, unless you count the big boomers where Samspon runs out and barks at the sky! LOL When Delilah first came to us she was unsettled by thunder and fireworks and microwave popcorn, but I sat with her thru them and gave her los of treats and now they don’t bother her at all. 🙂

      • Hey Sampson, Hey Delilah, Jet here. Hi Miss Jodi.

        I think it helps a teency bit, Miss Jodi, we try everything. 🙂 We’ve even tried my favorite bones during the storms, and turkey hot dogs (super duper favorite treat)… no luck… Mom says she wishes she could change my wiring!

  4. Oh big bro Jet its been raining like crazy over where we’re at too! 😦 And it isn’t even raining season! Last night, we experienced the same booms and streaky lights, plus the WIND WAS SINGING JET! It was hitting against the windows and howling away. Pretty scary if you ask me. Thank goodness Mom came down to check on me. O.O

  5. We had the same problem with our late basset Barney. Nothing worked. We just had to grin and get through every storm and fireworks display! Lots of long nights! 😦

    • Hey Fred, Hey Gloria, Jet here. Hi Miss Janet.

      Mom asked me to share that’s what she’s been doing since I joined the family… 😦 She always tries to alleviate my anxiety (and now JJ’s.) I’m sorry Barney, may he be frolicking with Koko over the Rainbow Bridge, had that issue, too.

  6. Hi sweet Jetty – your right so far so good – nice and quiet!! Cassie was so exhausted she hardly moved all day! I hope you, JJ and Mom are not too pooped and are ok!

    sending “wishing for a peaceful night sleep” goodnight to you sweet Jetty, JJ, Mom, Rachel and Pluffy (p.s. I wonder…do cats ever get scared of the booms and streaky lights?)

    love you xoxoxoxox

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      Well, JJ and I were tired, however, we had two issues requiring our constant attention today:

      1. Protect the home from DUCKS! Required lots of barking and moving to different sliding doors.
      2. Can’t tell you… saving for Mischief Monday!!! I’d whisper it to you if you were closer!!)

      Funny you should ask about the felines… read Miss Savannah’s comment and my response!

      Wishing all of the beings in Casa Miss Wendy a peaceful night’s sleep, too.

      Catch up sleep Jetty kisses and JJ hugs to you, Mr. David, Jacob, Cassie, Rex and Barkley oxoxoxoxxoxo

  7. well…errrr..ummm…I am just a cat…but I don’t mind the thunder and lightening stuff…and I live in the San Francisco Bay area where we dont even get it much…but still not concerned…and…welll…ummm…aren’t you guys, like, umm…dogs? Ya know…man’s best friend…unafraid…and stuff…I dunno…maybe I am wrong on this perception…just sayin…

    • Hi Savannah, Jet here.

      My feline brothers, Puffy and Fluffy, take storms in stride, they usually hide under Mom’s bed and sleep through the whole ordeal.

      I appreciate how delicate you were in your comment… just between you and I… feline to canine… some canines get really scared with noises and other anxiety provoking issues… we try to mask it to keep up appearances… but… you know… we’re sensitive! Canines from Mars/Felines from Venus kind of thing???

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      What can I say… when you’ve got it, you’ve got it!!! (Mom said a tv character said those words, but, she cannot remember who!) xoxoxoxoxo

  8. Pingback: My First Ever Haiku | Hey… It's Jet Here

Leave a Reply

