A Welcome Surprise or a Surprise Welcome?

Hey It’s Jet Here.

Yesterday, Mom returned home from an appointment in the usual way.   The usual way goes as follows:

  •  JJ and I hear the garage door open,
  • I trot over from my comfy day bed in the family room,
  • JJ races down the hallway from either Mom’s bed or the office floor, makes a left into the family room and joins me at the kitchen/garage door.
  • We sit and wait for Mom to exit her car, close the garage door and FINALLY enter the house. zshe really takes a long time for this process considering we’re anxiously awaiting her entrance.
  • Sometimes, I bark my wishes for her to hurry up and hope that she carries in a package for us.

JJ, Miss “I’m so darn happy, I can’t wait at the door, I must try to do more,” has found a way at times to nudge the door open.  That means that SOMEONE did not close the door completely when they left.  (Not mentioning names, because all the humans have done so at one time or another!)

Last night was one of those times.  Mom did not even have time to fully drive into the garage before JJ’s nose peaked out of the door.  Mom quickly put the car in park, turned off the engine as JJ’s whole body wiggled out of the door and she sidled up to Mom’s door.

If it were me, Mom knows I would have flown out of the garage for an evening run offleash, which would have been REALLY scary.  JJ stood still, wagging her tail fast.  Mom opened her door, made a hello fuss, and gently put her hand under JJ’s collar as they calmly walked into the house. (Mom hit the clicker as she entered, so the garage door closed.)  We readied for our evening constitutional and proceeded without incident.

Another great, welcome home Mom, day.

16 thoughts on “A Welcome Surprise or a Surprise Welcome?

  1. Hi Jetty – WHEW a close call – thank goodness you didn’t sneak out before JJ did to go for an offleash run! This picture is so very cute – it looks like JJ knows she is not supposed to be out there but she just can’t help herself! You doggys are so full of joy and your love is boundless – always wonderful to come home to!

    love you Jetty and JJ xoxoxox

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      Yup, close call indeed. Thanks Miss Wendy, although I must disagree. JJ goes out into the garage like she owns the place, not with sassy attitude, more with a welcome to my home everyone attitude!

      Yes we are, Mom says she looks forward to our wagging tails and silky faces when she walks in the door.

      Love you too Miss Wendy. xoxoxoxoxox Jetty and JJ

  2. Your mom is very wise Jetty. I imagine JJ is a lot like Sampson where she just wants to be with her humans. Delilah is like you in the fact that she would like a little exploration of the neighborhood. I’m glad everything turned out ok.

  3. Oh that was a close call! Thank goodness you didn’t manage to wiggle your way out along with JJ!
    Thanks for dropping by Dobermann Daze yesterday!

  4. Goodnight sweet Jetty – aren’t we all enjoying these quiet nights!!!

    sending so many goodnight hugs and kisses to you, JJ, Mom, Rachel and Pluffy xoxoxoxoxo

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      Oh yes we are… I’m still too afraid to do my before bed business…

      You won’t believe where I am right this minute… more on that later.

      Sending Jetty kisses and JJ hugs to you, Mr. David, Jacob, Cassie, Rex and Barkley xoxoxoxo

  5. Ha ha! Mom says that the first Greyhounds who lived here, Treat and Hawk, really loved going for rides in the van. One afternoon, Dad forgot to close the garage door. They got ready to go out for a walk, and when Mom came out the back door behind them, she looked down the steps and saw the daylight from the open garage door. She ran down the steps, prepared to follow after them, and found them circling the van, hoping to go for a ride. They got one, too! Mom and Dad opened the van and drove to get them ice cream! BOL!

    Bunny

    • Hey Bunny, Jet here. Hi Miss Carrie.

      Whoa, Bunny, that’s a good one… maybe I wouldn’t take off if I knew I would get ice cream if I stayed near the car!!! 🙂

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      Oh Miss Wendy, I wish you were with Mom today when I went to see Dr. Shaffer or after I was done. I’m catching ALL the goodnight hugs and kisses, I really need them right now.

      Sending Jetty kisses and JJ hugs back to you, Mr. David, Jacob, Cassie, Rex and Barkley xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

