6 Degrees of Irish Separation

Hey It’s Jet Here.

JJ and I did not want to dress in green today to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day.  Nor did we want to deal with green props, however, we wanted to celebrate the day in some fashion.  Additionally, Mom had this thing called a writer’s block last night.  She decided to “let it go” and see what happened during our walk this morning.  Sure enough, an idea sprung into her head and we discussed the details as we communed with nature.

MOM:  Mom’s special person growing up was Iris McCarthy, who was not Irish herself, but, married to an Irishman.  “Mashy” as she was known, loved animals and shared this love with Mom.  Fritz, one of Mashy’s dogs, was a big, fluffy, black dog who fiercely protected his family, yet had a marshmallow center when it came to loving anyone who Mashy invited into her home.  Mom loved Fritz and feels like he sent me to Mom, because we share similar looks and personality.

JJ:  In the 1800’s, the Scottish wanted a breed of K9 who could tolerate cold water and work in the heavy vegetation in upland Scotland.  By combining the Water Spaniel, the Newfoundland, the Bloodhound and THE IRISH SETTER, the Golden Retriever breed arose.  Fast forward two centuries and we have Miss JJ with her beautiful red coat thanks to her Irish Setter roots.

ME:  My Flat Coat Retriever side derives from a breeding program similar in nature to JJ’s.  Add some Labrador Retriever and Collie DNA into the mix and voila, the Flat Coat Retriever emerged.  My Border Collie side connects to Ireland via Scotland and the British Isles in general.  Apparently, the collie roots do not have precise genealogy like the retrievers.  Let’s just agree that Celtic clans contributed their K9’s DNA to the mix.

Finally, Mom decided to give us naturally green treats this morning after our walk.  Thanks to our friend, Ish, for the Green Eggs.  Hey Ish, you could have brought some Ham … you know Mom… it’s not her thing!

Another great Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

P.S. Happy Birthday to Miss Mary Ann (Dixie’s Mom!)

Thanks to Confessions of the Plume, Life With Dogs and Two Cavaliers for hosting the Saturday Pet Blog Hop. 

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

19 thoughts on “6 Degrees of Irish Separation

    • Hey Joke Puppy, Jet here. I’ll roll with that… we’re all Irish setters today! Woof! By the way, sometimes our comments do not go through on your site. We want you to know we visit and try to comment each time… Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

    • Hey Freddie, Hey Gloria, Jet here. Mom’s having big fights with the computer today… she’s trying to practice her patience techniques, so, sorry we’re replying late. Happy St. Paddy’s Day right back.

    • Hey Rumpy, Jet here. Oh Rumpy, it’s lean in the meat department at my house, unless my human sister Rachel is around… Ham… not sure I’ve ever seen it at Mom’s house!

  1. Happy St. Paddy;s Day sweet Jetty! Did you have a fun day – I hope so – the weather was so lovely wasn;t it!

    I really enjoyed all the great info about the origination of the breeds – so interesting – I bet you can get some credits at the Scooby Doo Academy for this work – maybe under a Canine History class!

    Had a busy day today so I;ll be making the corm beef and cabbage (hubby is 1/2 Irish and I love cabbage!) tomorrow!

    sending goodnight hugs and kisses to you, JJ, Mom, Rachel, Puffy and Fluffy xoxoxo

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy. Well, it was kind of a regular day, except Mom gave us marrow bones a little while ago after our walk, so, we’re working on them happily. Mom was pretty smart though, she put that icky natural ear cleaning fluid in our ears and THEN gave us the bones!l

      GREAT IDEA Miss Wendy! Perhaps you should apply to be an Academy counselor!

      Wow, impressive… I bet I would like corned beef and Mom for sure will not be cooking any here. 😦 Enjoy, enjoy.

      Goodnight to you Miss Wendy. Sending Jetty kisses and JJ hugs to you, the 1/2 Irish Mr. David, Jacob, Cassie, Rex and Barkley.

  2. Well after leaving such an interesting comment on my blog, I just had to stop by and see you Jet! You are handsome! I love Flat Coated Retrievers and Border Collies, so I already love you!

    I am so very glad your mom rescued you. I mean not every dog gets saved from death AND gets green eggs for breakfast! WOW!

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Mel (Am I correct in assuming Miss?)

      Thank you for your handsome compliment, I must confess it is my favorite adjective! Yippee, I’m so excited you like my heritages.

      Me too, Mom says I rescued her, too, because I make her laugh, smile and I give great lovies. Oh Miss Mel, that’s just the beginning, she gives us lots of healthy cool treats! I’m waiting for the K9 ice cream to hit our freezer!

      Nice to meet you, I hope we can visit more. Have a wonderful evening. Sending a Jetty kiss!

    • Hey it’s Jet here. I know, Mom… well… she’s not a ham kind a gal… she probably would have served like turkey ham… my human sister feels the same way, she begs Mom for bacon and not TURKEY bacon! Thanks for stopping by.

  3. We had corned beef to celebrate St. P day, Hubby is now working on corned beef hash for breakfast. YUM!! I forgot the cabbage though AND I can’t have wheat so no more soda bread.

    Surprisingly I just recently found out that people living in Ireland don’t eat corned beef. It must be an Irish-American tradition. 🙂

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Jodi. YUMMY… wish WE had corned beef (Hey Mom, hint, hint!) You know, she’s the Kitchen Counselor and she said great idea to make the hash today.

      I don’t understand this so much, however, she asked me to share with you that she and was wheat and dairy free for over 20 years! She still feels better that way. My human sister was wheat and dairy free until she could make her own decisions (about 9!) Mom works with folks all the time who want to make stuff different ways. So, if you want soda bread, ask her and I bet she can find one you can have. Oh, she asked if you can have spelt or kamut?

      Wow, we didn’t know that about corned beef in Ireland… would you share that on Mom’s Kitchen Counselor Facebook?

      Have a great day, off to post, we’re running late due to technical issues. (Mom dropped her phone with the pictures and needed sister’s help to fix!)

Leave a Reply

