I’m Singing in the Rain

Hey, It’s Jet Here.

Ok, I did not exactly sing in the rain late last night, let’s say I had that Gene Kelly glorious feeling of enjoyment in the rain.  Miss Mary Ann and Dixie came over last night by car because Dixie does not like her undercarriage to get wet.  The rain began when they tried to head out for a walk with us.

Mom, unaware of the weather change, welcomed them into the house for a visit and leashed JJ and I up with our raincoats while Mom and Miss Mary Ann spoke.  As you may have guessed, I could not muster enough courage to leave the garage.  Mom and JJ looked like Laker fans with their duck yellow (Mom) and purple (JJ) outerwear.

About an hour later, my tank let me know it needed emptying NOW.  I barked and nudged Mom while she worked on the computer.  She asked me if I wanted to try to go out again; I answered by trotting to the garage door and stepping into my harness.  The rain diminished to a light drizzle and Mom figured I would scoot to the side of the house, empty my tank quickly and sidle back inside the garage.  She gambled and we left sans outerwear and sans garage door clicker.  Good thinking Mom… until…

I realized that the drizzle felt refreshing on my back.  The side of the house did not evoke any tank emptying urges and I led Mom diagonally away from the house.  She did not want to interrupt my momentum and off we went.  I passed a favorite pole on my young friend, Ruby’s yard.  I passed a provocative patch of grass on Roger and Vicky’s yard as the rain frequency and volume increased.  I passed the first of three favorite tall thin trees on the next yard and FINALLY decided the second tree had the right mojo for tank emptying.  By then, I found my swagger and wanted to continue my constitutional.

Mom led me into a U-turn because by this point, we both looked like this thing called very wet.  With my nose tenderly sniffing the ground on the return trip, smelling all the wonderful scents lifted by the rain, I barely registered my water saturation.  Gotta give Mom some credit, she gave me smell time on the way back, even though the rain strength increased.  Mom heard and saw Gene Kelly performing “Singing in the Rain” in her mind’s eye as I took her on the scenic route home circling trees, following hedge lines,  and tracing semicircle driveways with my paws over the three yards on the opposite side of the street. 

Another great day (and night in the rain.)

11 thoughts on “I’m Singing in the Rain

  1. Hi Jetty – I;m so proud of you for walking in the rain!!!

    We just had another huge family party – so much fun but I’m super pooped so I;m sending you so many goodnight kisses and hugs to JJ, Mom, Rachel, Fluffy and Puffy xoxoxox

    • Hey, it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy. We figured you and the family had another great night. Thanks for your continued support in managing my challenges Miss Wendy. Love u lots. Get some rest.

      Sending Jetty kisses and JJ hugs to you, Mr. David, Jacob, Sister, BIL, Cassie, Rex and Barkley

    • Hey, it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Hayley. Thanks so much for finding my post! You are most welcome. Did you know that Mom and my human sister, Rachel, love the theater? Rachel helps with the technical stuff at her high school. They are staging a performance of Hello Dolly in April. Mom wanted me to share that when she had the pleasure of visiting your wonderful city, she attended a performance of… uh oh… she can’t recall it was uh… 23 years ago on her honeymoon!

      Please tell the company to “break a paw, leg!”

      • Hi again Jet (:
        I’m so glad that the theatre still has such a loyal following despite the advancement of films and other technologies. It’s great to hear about your human sister getting involved with technical theatre at her high school, it’s a great thing to get into.
        Haha gosh that is quite long ago now, Les Miserables perhaps if it was 23 years ago? That’s 26 now.

      • Hey, it’s Jet here. Hi again Miss Hayley! Mom said thank you for doing this thing called “jogging her memory!” She’s not sure, could have been. She saw that play on Broadway, too!

        Miss Hayley, may I inquire what you do with the show?

  2. Pingback: Oh What a Beautiful Morning, Oh What a Beautiful Day… | Hey… It's Jet Here

Leave a Reply

