Punctuality

Hey, It’s Jet Here. 

Generally, we place a high priority on punctuality.  Mom learned from her Dad to arrive fifteen minutes early not fifteen minutes late.  Arriving what’s called, “fashionably late” to a party is this thing called an “exception to the rule.”   When you live in Miami like we do, when attending an event, you must ask whether the start time is “Cuban time” (sometimes referred to as Latin time) or American time.  The interpretation of Cuban time: arrive anywhere from ½ hour to 2 hours late and think nothing about it.  This occurrence takes getting used to.  Mom’s had food get cold and wonder if her party flopped when all of a sudden the doorbell began to chime.  

As part of Scooby Doo Academy’s etiquette classes, I practice punctuality too.  A true gentleman never makes a lady wait.  I continue to wake Mom at LEAST fifteen minutes (usually more like 30-45 minutes) before our breakfast time.  We make sure that we build in extra time for traffic when visiting Dr. Schaffer.  We leave our house with plenty of minutes to spare when meeting our pack.  

Then why have we posted late two days in a row??? I’ll tell you why… THE MACHINE THAT I REST/SLEEP/DICTATE BESIDE.  I know you have read about Mom’s computer issues.  Well, her newsletter took 2 ½ hours longer than usual because of all that technical stuff.  Mom even left the room a few times.  (I think I saw smoke coming out of her ears!)  On top of the computer stuff, Mom has a REALLY long schedule on Tuesdays, so, if she can’t post before work, she can only post about this time of day, after she: walks us, gives us treats, cleans up cat v___t, feeds my human sister, etc…  

Can I tell you something funny?  In her newsletter today, she included a little prayer to vanquish these things called poltergeists/hobgoblins and other mean creatures from her machine.  For her sake, I hope it works.  Thanks Jetty, you have such a kind heart.  Aw, Mom. 

Another great day night.

2 thoughts on “Punctuality

  1. Hi Jet – I was getting worried about you and your family – I thought perhaps Rachels Grandma had her back surgery today.

    I sympatize about those pesky computer problems – my monitor pooped out completely right in the middle of the day today – I tried to revive it – no use – it was broken – so I had an unplanned and unbudgeted!!! trip to the store to replace it and then the ever unpleasant task of hooking up the new one which of course required 2 phone calls to AT & T technical service to get the internet configured right or something like that! Your poor Mom had smoke coming out her ears and my eyeballs actually hurt!!!! Whew – – thanks for listening!!!

    I will add Mom to my prayers tonight and hope she has no more poltergeists and critters bothering her computer.

    sending lotsa kisses and hugs – love you xoxoxo

    p.s. is JJ coming on Saturday? I;m so excited!!!

    • Hey, it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy. See, we’re up REALLY early to make sure we post normally today. Thank you for your concern, Rachel’s Grandma will have surgery on Friday. I will be the one crossing my paws for good luck!

      Oh Miss Wendy, do you think poltergeists are contagious? We have that thing called AT&T too, uh oh… Mom wishes she had enough biscuit money for a new contraption, however, she said we must wait. Do you need eye drops Miss Wendy? I’m sorry your eyes hurt… Mom says to tell you she does this thing called empathize with you. I will always listen, you are my good human friend now.

      Mom said to tell you that we will add you to our poltergeist prayers so that your machine works like a purring kitten. (Mom, do I really have to say that?) It’s an expression, Jetty.

      YES, YES, the Chewminator will attend in her full glory! We’re really excited too, we almost jumped in the car last night to practice back seat protocol after our midnight tank emptying. Mom was looking for her book!

      Jetty kisses Miss Wendy, we’ll post right now.

Leave a Reply

