Pest Control

Hey, It’s Jet Here.

Before I dictate the main post, I must share that I’m cautiously optimistic that the Booms have stopped. Last night I took Mom and JJ on an extra long tour of the neighborhood in reverse order and boy did it smell good. I earned my twistix treat for sure!

ignore the words, the picture says it all!

Ok, now, back to the subject at hand. Years before I joined the family, my human sister, Rachel, and some of her friends used the code words “PEST CONTROL” when they needed relief from annoying younger siblings. Mom and Rachel were doing this thing called reminiscing recently about those days. I listened quite acutely because… I’ve heard Mom say those words to Rachel when JJ will not let her work on the computer after toys, chewies, and attention fail. As soon as Mom utters the words, Rachel calls JJ and she happily joins Rachel until her teeny tiny attention span gets distracted again. Jet, although your description of JJ’s attention span accurately reflects her behavior, the way you said it, well, I think you can use kinder words. But, Mooommmm… Try, Jetty. Ok, how about, … until Rachel fails to keep JJ engaged in fetch, belly rubs, tug or cuddle,etc… Better AND more descriptive, good boy. Thanks Mom.

The thing about Pest Control, you use it after you’ve tried polite ideas or after you’ve given a reasonable amount of attention to the “Would be Pest.” I want to use code words, too, however, they do not translate into K9 very well; see the following situations:

  • I’m minding my own business, curled up somewhere comfy and JJ trots over, puts her muzzle under mine to get my attention. If I do not respond, she moves to a different location and keeps at it until I give in and play with the pooch.
  • I’m sniffing something during our walks, intent to break down the components and there she is, in my face, sniffing the same thing. Sometimes, she passes under my belly as if I’m a bridge to get to my exact spot. Really?
  • Mom’s trying to give me a belly rub and You Know Who starts the muzzle thing with Mom. Hey, it’s MY TURN.

See what I mean… someone, anyone… PEST CONTROL…

Another great and pest free day.

3 thoughts on “Pest Control

  1. Hi Jet – OMG you had me laughing so hard , you (and your Mom ) are such good writers, really descriptive – I can actually envision JJ crawling under your belly while you sniff – and I laugh out loud! and teeny time attention span LOL!!!!

    I think JJ is just so extra happy, excited and full of joy that she has found such a wonderful furever home she can;t control herself! Sadly she probably wasn;t shown much love/attention in her past life so I like to think she’s making up for lost time! And who better than to play and snuggle with – but you and your lovely family!

    Cassie has slight “pest” tendancies also- she;ll put her head on my lap while I;m on the computer if she needs to go out or wants her food, she’ll take her head and put it under your arm/hand if you have the nerve to stop petting her, and she;ll bat you endlessly with her paws if you stop rubbing her belly etc. Buy as “pesty” as she can be – I look into those big brown eyes – and I melt and keep patting!!! becuase I know she needs it!

    Sending goodnight kisses and hugs to you, JJ, Mom, Rachel. Fluffy and Puffy xoxoxoxoxo

    • hey, it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy. Mom got to the computer late today. Thanks so much for the compliment. I think I learned my vocabulary from listening to Mom and her friends. Mom said she received less than stellar grades in writing, so, your compliments means even more to her! Glad you got the visual, you should see it in person!

      Miss Wendy, you’re right about JJ, she is just so gosh darn happy, happy, happy all the time. Sometimes, we do not have the energy to keep up with her. I hope you’re wrong about her past, but, if you’re right, then she will know what it means to live in a loving home. She does have to work on her “feline” skills, she still thinks they’re toys. Puff sounds like a dragon and not the happy kind.

      You’re description of Cassie is perfect, too, we’re laughing right back. I know, it’s hard to resist us, isn’t it! Mom just told me that’s part of the reason she always has these things called bags under her eyes.

      Hope Jacob is feeling more comfortable today, too.

      Goodnight Jetty kisses and JJ hugs to you, Mr. Wendy, Jacob, Cassie, Rex and Barclay (sp?)!

  2. Just a fast hello and also to thank you for discussing your ideas on this page. I wound up inside your blog right after researching physical fitness connected issues on Yahoo guess I lost track of what I had been performing! Anyway I’ll be back once again inside the long term to check out your blogposts down the road. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

