Missed Ya!

Hey It’s Jet Here.

Mom and I look forward to Wordless Wednesdays.  We contemplate (vocab builder) the construction of our post beginning usually around Sunday.  Sometimes, the light bulb goes off as late as Tuesday evening and then Mom transcribes Wednesday morning anywhere from 5 to 7:30 depending on the day’s schedule.

You may recall that we stayed off the virtual highway on Monday over concerns about that virus thingie winging around the world.  JJ had a rough night with storms, barking her way through the wee hours of the morning like a heckler at a comedy club.  Tuesday evening deteriorated further.

Little Miss Barkarooni began her heckling of the thunder/lightening around 3 a.m.  She added pacing, burrowing, and digging to China to her repertoire.  (vocab builder)  By 4:00 a.m., we heard an explosion and a burst of light and then… fade to black!  Living in Hurricane land, we lose our power quite often, sometimes for seconds, sometimes for hours, and sometimes for days.  Mom checked out the windows to make sure it was the neighborhood and not just us.  Across the canal retained (vocab builder) their lights, lucky ducks.

Anyway, the storm continued, JJ continued and Mom became desperate.  Finally, she wondered if JJ would benefit from a lady cave, since my man caves have helped me feel a smidge safer.  So, at 4:20 ish, Mom took her sleeping wedges and phone and trudged through the dark, (no working flashlights… yeah, she knows, restock the hurricane supplies), into her closet.  JJ and I followed without need of request and she shut the door, setting up her sleeping area on the floor.  I nestled into my man cave #2 corner; man cave #1 is in Mom’s office. JJ paced the small rectangle shape until finally settling down beside Mom’s shoe tree about 35 minutes later.  Oh, guess who joined us too?  Fluffy!

Mom snatched about an hour of rest and then woke up in time to serve us breakfast.  She could not go to work since the garage door would not open without the emergency pull, costing $125 to reengage.  Power returned around noon and Mom was so out of sorts that she never did get to write our Wednesday post or participate in the hop.  Don’t worry; we filed our idea away for next week.

Another great, thank goodness for electricity, day.

43 thoughts on “Missed Ya!

  1. Hi sweet Jetty – OH NO – poor Mom!! I was worried when I didn;t see a post from you yesterday – glad your all ok just pooped! Hope you all get to nap alot today! love you xoxox

      • YUP here too – Cassie is going nuts, paddling, scratching etc!!!- I guess she’s done with the thundershirt – POOEY!!!!!

      • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

        Yup, I scratched and climbed the cpu tower, the office desk, mom’s printer and went into zombie world…

        Mom echoes (vocab builder) your POOEY and raises you a BIG FAT BUMMER!

    • Hey Dalton, Jet here.

      Nice to make your acquaintance. Hey, if you need suggestions with your human for man cave ideas, do let me know. Mom has offered the office closet and her bedroom closet and sometimes my human sister’s closet (door open) as a potential safe place for when it storms and I get beyond scared. I wish I could enjoy the man caves for entertainment and good stuff like that…

      • But i assumed that if it is your man cave then you get to use it for whatever you want whenever you want? This isn’t something else they will ration is it??

  2. So sorry you all went through such a terrible experience. Jack and Ginger went through the barking thing for about a half hour. I made Jack lay next to me and rubbed his ears and he settled down and went to sleep. Since Ginger didn’t have a barking buddy she went to sleep too. On the garage door issue, our power was out for 5 days a couple of years ago and of course the generator was on the big garage door side that I could not lift manually blocked in by the car. I tried and the rope broke and I fell off the ladder. Our neighbor brought over his generator since he was on the last grid that had power. About 6 months later the motor in the garage door burned out and I had to replace it so I got one that has a backup battery (42 ups and downs on the battery). Of course the power hasn’t gone out so I could try it.

    Hugs to Mom and ear rubs to you a JJ with a few belly rubs thrown in (for you and JJ not Mom). Jack and Ginger say hi.

    • Hey Jack, Hey Ginger, Jet here. Hi Miss Rebecca.

      Thanks, sorry to hear that Jack and Ginger struggled too. I kind of hung in there, however, JJ was inconsolable for more than a few minutes at a time. :(

      Oh dear, falling off the ladder? Yuk. Back up battery? ooohhh there’s an idea. Mom just had a new motor put in last year and they didn’t even mention that. As we’ve previously discussed, this is the only vendor house-wise that Mom growls about.

      Miss Rebecca? Thanks for the ear rubs and especially the belly rubs (which I happen to be in the perfect spot for RIGHT now… just sayin’… Mom will give us some in about 10 minutes when she finishes replying to comments. :)

      Please tell my bud, hello and give lovely ginger paw pats from us. Jetty kisses and JJ hugs to you and Mr. Rebecca. xoxoxoxox

    • Hey Litchi, Jet here. Hi Miss Susan.

      She’s a wonderful Mom who is also a LIGHT sleeper! She keeps trying to “figure it out” and move us toward healthier options. Mom loses a day’s pay, so, it’s a big bummer when she cannot go. She does not have sick days or vacation days as she is a part timer in that particular job.

    • Hey Litchi, Jet here. Hi Miss Susan.

      Nope, neither of us have… now that’s not terribly surprising for me, however Mom is super curious… She’s going to write on Sunday probably, so, your timing is perfect!!! :)

      You are so thoughtful to think of her newsletter. :) Sending upside down Jetty kisses (I have my belly facing the ceiling beside Mom at the moment!)

  3. Isn’t it great having moms that do just about anything for us fur babies! My mom has walked up and down the street in pouring rain when we have been sick, she is always there for us no matter what she has going on – no wonder we love our human mommies so much!

  4. Hi sweet Jetty – hope you were ok with todays storms. Really hoping your sweet Mom gets a good nights rest. I have to work at Coscto tomorrow sampling DOVE products so I;m off to bed.

    sending peaceful storm free goodnight hugs and kisses to you, JJ, Mom, Rachel and Pluffy xoxoxo

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      Well, um, uh… we tried, we really did. Mom kept sending me to my office man cave, however, hoisting myself up onto the cabinet and her printer seemed to feel better. She didn’t quite agree. Simultaneously, JJ whimpered, climbed on Mom a bit, hovered nearby and paced. She barked a little. Mom had trouble leaving the house, as JJ kept exiting too! How was Cassie?

      Dove? Dove Miss Wendy? Dove good smelling stuff for human hair and skin or the yummy dove frozen or chocolately goodness?

      Sending total agreement of peaceful storm free Jetty kisses and JJ hugs to you, Mr. David, Jacob, Cassie, Rex and Barkley xoxoxoxoxo

  5. Hey Jet, I’ve been having that thunder thingy too. I don’t like it one bit. Maybe I can get my person to find me a man cave. I usually hang out in the hallway because it’t the farthest place in the house from the thunder.

    • Hey Bongo, Jet here. Hi Miss Laura.

      Oh no, dude, so sorry to hear that. Yes, I would recommend finding the most insulated part of your home to designate as Bongo’s Man Cave, even if it’s temporary… it can be like a pop up restaurant format!!!

  6. Hi sweet Jetty – well another storm (Cassie had a real tough time with yesterday afternoons storm) around 4ish, I have to work all day so Mr. David took her down stairs, we put on her thundershirt and she did settle down. Hopefully your Mom got a good night sleep. I;m demoing the Dove beauty products for 3 days, alot of standing on my feet but it;s good biscuit money!

    Hope you all have a wonderful day! sending goodmorning hugs and kisses xoxoxoxo

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      JJ and I did as well, Miss Wendy, paddling, scratching, climbing the cpu tower and Mom’s desk, Mom’s printer… it wasn’t pretty.

      Yeah biscuit money… wish it was the yummy dove instead of the pretty dove! Take good care of you and please thank Mr. David for taking such good care of Cassie. :)

      Sending peaceful Jetty kisses and JJ hugs to you, Mr. David, Jacob, Cassie, Rex and Barkley. xoxoxoxoxo

    • Hey Clowie, Jet here.

      Congrats on your Rumpy interview… Mom saw it in her email queue, but, has not had time to read it to me yet. Um, Clowie? We think we have an apology for you… we originally thought you were a female K9, then tried to confirm on your site… we thought we saw something about being a male… and then Mom saw something really fast in Rumpy’s interview saying you were a female. OOPS… many apologies…

      JJ is often called a him or boy in the neighborhood even though she has a hot pink leash and collar!

      Well, we’ve had some more storms, however, Mom squeezed a few groups of sleep/naps together, so, she feels ok and is at work!

      • Hi Jet.
        Thank you. I really enjoyed the interview with Rumpy. It was fun!

        No worries! I should make it clear on my “about” page that I’m a girl doggy. I don’t worry if someone says “he” or “boy” because lots of people refer to all dogs as “he” and all cats as “she”.
        My cat Mulberry doesn’t much like it when people refer to him as “she” though!

        I’m glad your mum has caught up on her sleep a bit.

      • Hey Miss Clowie, Hey Master Mulberry. Jet here.

        Now I can share that I find you fetching!!!

        Yes, Puffy, does not appreciate gender mistakes either!

        Yes, Mom’s back on track… well her usual goofy track. :)

  7. well, I am not afraid of thunder..but fireworks sent me to a place my huParents still don’t know! But, when I first came here, they found after a month, I had a chronic bladder infection. They had to give me some meds, so they had to keep me our masterbath and closet. Mom made a little hidden be for me in the master closet which I have posted…but for 3 nights, she brought in a pad from a bench so she could sleep on the closet floor with me. And I did come out from my hiddy hole and snuggle next to her..we are best soul furriends

  8. Oh my goodness! What a night you had. I can sympathise with the whole loss of power thing. I think we live in extremely similar climates. I find that our power goes out right around the time that I finally get round to resetting the time on the answerphone and recording a new message. To the point where I think I may actually be controlling the storms. Have you tried a Thundershirt on the poor wee thing? I feel very fortunate that Flo doesn’t seem bothered by the thunder.

    • Hey Flo, Jet here. Hi Miss Heather.

      Thanks for the empathy (vocab builder). Yup, tried the thundershirt… While I look dapper, if I don’t say so myself, no improvement unfortunately.

      So glad you are unaffected Flo.

  9. Yikes. We have recently had some power outages. Strange thing…we don’t live in a hurricane zone and we have underground utilities. I had to search out the flashlight and batteries, (I know, I know).

    • Hey Brown Dawgs, Jet here. Hi Miss Linda.

      Mom FINALLY purchased 4 different flashlight varieties with batteries on Sunday, so we will be more prepared the next time.

      Hope you don’t have any more!!! Although, we like the quiet when everything is off.

      • I had to bail water from the sump pump because it was raining so hard and no power or air conditioning. Then I didn’t want to leave windows open because I was in the basement bailing and I am paranoid…lol.

      • Hey brown dawgs, Jet here. Hi Miss Linda.

        OMD! I didn’t know what that sump pump thingie was because we do not have basements in the tropics. Mom had one of those thingies growing up in NJ, so, she explained.

        We’re so sorry, sounds like you need an ark… tell that rain to help the drought areas and leave you guys alone! :)

  10. Pingback: Thinking of All of You – With Gratitude | Hey… It's Jet Here

Leave a Reply

