Summer Reading

Hey It’s Jet Here.

Mom told JJ and I that many humans enjoy reading more during the summer than at other times of the year.  Unfortunately, she still lugs these heavy rectangle thingies wherever she goes versus those humans who read 2.0 style with machines called Nooks, Kindles, and I-Pads.  While listening to NPR radio two days ago, she heard a great story about K9 memoirs, “books about how dogs transform their owners’ lives.”  Oh, did I mention that Mom reads like a turtle?   (no disrespect to our friends at Under the Shell!)

The great part about the NPR link; you can listen to the story or read it.  They review five books so you humans will sure have lots to choose from, learn and enjoy about us K9s!  Mom said her first choice at the moment remains Until Tuesday: A Wounded Warrior and the Golden Retriever Who Saved Him is by Luis Carlos Montalvan.

Mom always shares books she purchases.  These days, since Mom’s doing that budgeting thingie more, she may scout the used book store (the best one closed a few years back.) If our blogpals lived closer, we’d offer a book-swap!

What’s on your summer reading list?

Another great, summertime reading, day.

16 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. I’m with your Mom on the choice of reading material. I love the feel of books so, although the gadgets provide a good travel option, I’d far rather have the real thing in my had.
    PS – I got the food newsletter – see your Mom managed to dig up even more info on the Marula Fruit. All very interesting. Maybe I should start exporting to the States if you can’t find them anywhere!

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Susan.

      Yippee, you saw Mom’s newsletter, now you’re famous! whoo hoo… setting my watch for 15 min! BOL… yeah, Mom is a curious sort. She could not have done any of it without you, so, sending Jetty kisses and JJ hugs of appreciation. :) Sounds like a plan because Mom absolutely could not find any available stateside! Imagine… Marula ice cream, frozen yogurt, fruit leather, shakes, nom, nom, nom…. :)

    • Hey Benny, Hey Lily, Jet here.

      Ok, here’s the trick. Get all snuggly with Mom and nudge her with your nose to remind her to keep petting as soon as she turns the page!

  2. your Mom is like my Mom. My Mom will NOT use any electronic reader…she doesn’t believe in them! Ohhhh we have a STACK of books to read for the summer, too many to list but we will be blogging about them on both of our blogs! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. hey Jet,

    My human LOVES books and has boxes and boxes of books. I think it is great when humans read, but better when the write but only if they are writing about us! BOL! Seriously, though, I would love to be made into a book!

    Hope your mom enjoys her books!

    Suka

    • Hey Suka, Jet here. Hi Miss K.

      I agree, most important when they write about us! BOL! I want to be made into a book, too and give proceeds to help other dogs like me. :)

      Yours, too… please tell Miss K, happy reading!

  4. Adore reading, but I suppose one these days I’ll do the nook, kindle, iPad thing. It’s just so hard to give up strolling through a bookstore without anything particular in mind and discovering a topic you’d never even considered before, the feel of a book in your hands, turning pages, even the smell of a new book. (sigh) One of these days…

    • Hey Henry, Hey Zachary, Jet here.

      Your human has hit the proverbial “nail on the head” according to Mom. Our local Borders went belly up last year and now Mom has to drive through lots of traffic to stroll through the bookstore without anything in mind… she just finished one of those type books today called… Town House by Tish Cohen. She asked me to share that she would never have known the book existed if not for rummaging through the sale racks. :)

  5. Hi sweet Jetty – I;m with your Mom – I love the feeling holding a book! believe it or not I like horror books! the scarier the better – I don;t know why but I just enjoy them!

    Just got back from sampling yummy cheescake! I;m pooped – early tomorrow Jacob and I are off to volunteer at the food bank

    sending loads of goodnight hugs and kisses to you, JJ, Mom, Rachel and PLuffy xoxoxox

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      Wow, would have never guessed that Miss Wendy… you and Rachel have lots in common!

      Oh wow, we call volunteering in that way a mitzvah… a good deed. Please share how it goes tomorrow, ok Miss Wendy? We admire you for doing that.

      Goodnight Jetty kisses and JJ hugs right back to you, Mr. David, Jacob, Cassie, Rex and Barkley xoxoxoxo

  6. I just bought a Kindle and I love it. I can keep it in my purse and always have a book handy. Mine is not super fancy, but you could listen to audio books on it. (Haven’t done that yet.) I also like that you can sample the books before purchase, (and many are very inexpensive). I used to go to the library all of the time, but now I can just never get there. But I will admit, no doggie books on my kindle yet…lol…sometimes I need a break. :)

    • Hey brown dawgs, Jet here. Hi Miss Linda.

      Cool beannies! (that’s what Mom says sometimes…) She loves audio books, too. Yeah, she asked me to share that subject balancing is a good thing. :)

Leave a Reply

