Mischief Monday – Mango Madness

Hey It’s Jet Here.

Boy did we have another post in mind for you. Yup, sure did, until Mom decided to make Tropical Mango Chutney for the family that gave her a bunch of mangos on Friday night. While the chutney cooked, she prepared mangos for Mango Bread pudding and a batch of her annual Mango Ketchup. (More on these items on Tasty Tuesday!)

Anyway, working with mangos can be a messy business. Mango juice squirts everywhere, peels slip out of human hands, Mom occasionally misses the garbage when she throws the pits away and mangos stain everything. Did I mention we have a predominantly (vocab builder) white kitchen?

Mom selected the mangos to break down for the bread pudding last. She needed four, however, sometimes you need an extra to make up for some over ripe insides, so, she took five. Apparently, five mangos cannot balance in Mom’s arms and one fell and rolled somewhere on the floor. She placed the four on the counter and returned to the fridge area to retrieve number five.

Where did the mango go? Mom could not find it anywhere. Since I remained firm in my Kitchen K-9, guarding blocking the fridge area, she kind of poked underneath and around my soft, clean, handsome smelling fur (this morning was spa day!) with no success.

Case solved.

Another great mango day.

Thanks to Alfie’s BlogSnoopy’s Dog BlogMy Brown Newfies and Luna, A Dog’s Life…for sponsoring the hop!  Click on any of the sponsors to join the hop.

51 thoughts on “Mischief Monday – Mango Madness

    • Hey Sugar, Jet here.

      Oh yes, we love your Tasty Tuesdays… we share many of the same tropical plants as your lovely Hawaii… just different varieties! Our neighborhood mostly has Haydens, which the builders planted about 35-40 years ago. More on varieties tomorrow!

      From JJ… Sugar, since we are both goldens, and I’m a petite one at that (54 lbs and losing… no matter how much Mom feeds me!) I bet if you try REAL hard, you could fit one in your mouth to deliver to your Mom, too!

    • Hey Alfie, Jet here.

      Great to see you in my queue… we’re a bit behind on the hop… have patience with Mom….

      Do you have mangoes in the UK? We bet you get them from far away places like India and Africa… wonder which varieties you have… We ate Hayden tidbits last night… Know what you mean… I think that’s why Little Miss Helper scooped up the orb!

    • Hey Urban Hounds, Jet here. Hi Miss Kate,

      Mom asked me to share that when she grew up in NJ… my human Nana found the first mango in the store when Mom was about 12! I bet you can find mangos up north much easier now! yippee!

  1. Give back the mango! I mean it, give back the mango please! LOL. We love the mischief Monday post. We love mangoes too… but we’d rather have the peeled and cubed ones because they’re tastier!

    Huggies and Cheese,

    Haopee

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Haopee,

      From JJ… I was trying to help Mom find the mango. I planned to deliver it to her, I swear! Since I’m newish to the family, I never tasted mango before (we’re guessing… because I’m 6 ish) … Mom gave me a few peeled and cubed tidbits; I think I liked them!

      Can’t wait for cooking time tonight… :)

      • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Susan.

        Any fruit varities that we would not know? (Mom is The Kitchen Counselor after all with a curious mind!)

      • I am sure we do. Have you heard of the Marula fruit, for example? actually a good story behind it. The elephants are known to get drunk when eating them. We also make a truly delicious liqueur out of them, called Amarula Cream – yummy!

      • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Susan.

        Whoa, a drunk elephant, now that’s a vision! May Mom use your comment in her upcoming Kitchen Counselor newsletter? She has a section called Expanding my palate and this would be perfect! :) We’ve never heard of that fruit!

      • Hi there Jetty,

        I’ve been thinking about this. When I told you of the Marula Fruit, I had thought “good idea for a blog”. This being obvious as I now only think in blog. When your Mom asked if she could use it in her blog, I figured maybe we could do something at the same time. Now I realise that this is silly. For one thing, between life and animals, there really is no shortage of stories – I don’t need this one. You guys are welcome to use it. For another thing, I love South Africa and care not how any good publicity for the country gets out there. I wish everyone could get at least one experience of it in their life time. So, to this end, here is some info your Mom might find useful.

        Firstly, on investigation, it fits in extremely well with the Mango story as, it appears, the Marula Tree is from the same family as the Mango!

        Secondly, it is worth remembering that this is a myth. Some scientist say it does not happen. Many, however, like the myth better than any scientific study. It remains a good one here.

        Thirdly, here are some links you might find useful. http://www.marula.org.za has some interesting facts under About Marula and also under Marula Legends – take a look. http://www.Krugerpark.co.za/africa_marula.html has also got some useful info.

        I hope this helps and I look forward to the blog.

      • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Susan.

        Oh, I think Mom needs to clear one thing up… she’s NOT going to use this info for my blog… she would like to include your info in her Kitchen Counselor newsletter! Would that be ok?

        Oh, and Mom and I both think in blog, too!!! BOL… :)

      • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Susan…

        The word bad and Miss Susan, does not compute! You are so lovely, thoughtful and SMART! Mom asked me to share thank you and she will send you a copy of the newsletter so you have a better idea of what she meant! :)

      • Hey it’s Jetty here. Hi Miss Susan.

        Be sure to read today’s post, we hit the publish button late… good news for you!!! :) Oh Miss Susan, I would consider it an honor and privilege to be your BFF! :) I will send you Jetty kisses…

    • Hey Adventureweiner, Jet here.

      We think we saw you mentioned in some posts today!!! hmmm… Roxy??? Yes, it’s a benefit of living in the tropics… when Mom lived up north, she rarely had them. She said it’s like your wonderful fall apples up north, we get yucky ones generally down here.

  2. Hi sweet Jetty – that is a riot – good mischief JJ! look at her face – tooo adorable with that whole mango stuffed in her mouth! My furbabies come runnin when they hear me take a peeling knife out to prepare any fruit – h20melons, athena cantelopes, apples, etc how do they know it is a knife not a spoon?

    sending mango flavored goodnight hugs and kisses to you, JJ, Mom, Rachel and Pluffy xoxoxo

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      Yeah, she was kind of adorable… have to admit it… we K9s are a smart bunch, that’s how!

      Sending mango ketchup slurpy goodnight Jetty kisses and JJ hugs to you, Mr. David, Jacob, Cassie, Rex and Barkley… xoxoxoxox

    • Hey Dakota, Jet here. Hi Miss Caren.

      We think so, but, Mom’s been super busy and sometimes writes in the wee hours of the morning or the wee hours of the night… if we didn’t comment, than we might need a refresher!

      Stay tuned, Mom’s gonna share that bread pudding recipe… we tried tidbits tonight and it was MIGHTY tasty! :)

  3. errr..ummm…ahhhh…I like don’t get mangoes…but Mom says they are good…but she just likes them served in a restaurant…she doesn’t know what else to do with them…and the only way Dad would eat them is if she hid them in his mashed potatoes or steak…just sayin…Dad is an East coast guy…meat ‘n potatoes

    • Hey Savvy, Jet here.

      I know Savvy, you felines stick with protein! K9s like JJ and I have a broader palate. Oh gosh, Mom could give your Mom a “how to cut a mango tutorial”; she had to learn when she moved down to the tropics. Mom made mango ketchup and mango bread pudding today. We got tidbits of the latter, the former had a teensy bit of cayenne!

      Mom’s east coast… she’s seen those meat ‘n’ potato folks… never suited her though…

  4. Hey there Jetty,

    So sorry I’ve taken this long to reply to you. Of course your Mom can use the Elephants and Marula Fruit. Maybe you could be so kind as to have a word with her and see if she would like me to do a “kind of” linked up article to coincide? Whatever her answer, I’d me more than happy for peoples palates to be expanded through to Africa

    • Hey it’s Jetty here! Hi Miss Susan.

      Well you are just the nicest! Mom asked me to share that she really appreciates that you said yes! She will probably write the new issue between Thursday and Sunday to get eblasted on Tuesday… She would LOVE you to link up the newsletter… She has to think about how to do so… may she add you to the mailing list? She sends the newsletter out 2x/month, people tell us that the newsletter is juicy!!!

      Oh, Miss Susan? She’s smiling really wide right now… How do I know since I’m sleeping sideways beside her you ask? A boy like me just knows his Mom! :)

    • Hey Snoopy, Jet here.

      Snoopy, between us, my food manners far outweigh Little Miss “Helpful!” She likes carrying things around, as retrievers do… you see, we think I have some retriever in me, however, we think I have border collie too, so, my instincts are split…

      Mom asked me to share that indeed, she must keep on her toes… and… she wouldn’t trade it for the world! :) Check out today’s post, we actually got tidbits of mango!!!

  5. It looks like you were up to your ears in mangoes….lol. I have never heard of mango bread pudding. Wish I wasn’t allergic to them. Always willing to try new kinds of bread pudding. :)

    • Hey brown dawgs, Jet here. Hi Miss Linda.

      Oh gosh, say it isn’t so! Are you allergic to the flesh or the sap? If it’s the sap, have other humans prepare items for you… if it’s the flesh, than Mom recommends substituting peaches and/or nectarines…. :)

  6. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday – Mango Week Continues… | Hey… It's Jet Here

Leave a Reply

