Monday Mischief – JJ’s Vet Visit

Hey It’s Jet Here.

On Saturday, JJ had to visit Dr. Shaffer again to check on her scar and her ear (infection, then wax wad).  Of course, I fell for the “Jetty, do you want a piggie ear?” so Mom could get JJ out of the house without my noticing.

Mom told me the following when they returned home…

Not JJ, but Mom says close enough, except JJ’s ears have way more hair!

Jetty, you won’t believe what happened.  Dr. Shaffer said that while JJ’s ear does not present any inflammation, she still has that wad of wax down there and there are hairs in it which could lead to an infection.  The two syringe thingies of helping stuff has done this softening of the wax, however, it’s still lodged in there. Dr. Shaffer and his vet techs took JJ into the back and put her up on the table.  Dr. Shaffer brought towels out and used this gynormous syringe filled with a solution to try to flush out the wax wad.  Your sister demonstrated courage and bravery during each repeated flush. 

When they dried her off and brought her back into the exam room, Dr. Shaffer said he got about half out and I would have to flush everyday for a week, beginning a week from Saturday.  I will have the usual medicine bottle, no big syringe thingie. 

On our way out, Judy mentioned JJ was up for her semi-annual complimentary exam.  Knowing that JJ had enough with the back room, they kindly came out to check her stool.  I figured they could call me with the results.  Judy and I started chatting and before you know it, the vet tech came out and said JJ had hookworms.  REALLY?  EWWWWWWWWW, I’ve never dealt with that in all my years of pet ownership.  Did I mention EWWWWWWWW Jetty?  They gave her some medicine in her mouth and I have to do the second dose.  And… when I take JJ back in two weeks, guess whose “scoop the poop” bag/specimen I have to bring… YUK!!!!!!  

So, Jetty, I say that both the wax wad and the hookworms are definitely the mischief makers this week.  Did I mention EWWWWWWWW????

Uh Mom?  Yes, Jetty?  Take a breath, calm down, Nurse Jetty is on duty, everything will get better.  Thanks Jetty, you’re the best.

Another great, but medically yucky, day.

Thanks to Alfie’s BlogSnoopy’s Dog BlogMy Brown Newfies and Luna, A Dog’s Life…for sponsoring the hop!  Click on any of the sponsors to join the hop.

38 thoughts on “Monday Mischief – JJ’s Vet Visit

    • Hey Benny, Hey Lily, Jet here.

      Thanks for the kind vibes, JJ seems to need a bunch, although she’s acting like her normal Little Miss Wonder Dog self!

      Hoping Lily is feeling better, too. :)

    • Hey Fred, Hey Gloria, Jet here. Hi Miss Janet.

      Gosh, I never knew how valuable my nursing classes @ Scooby Doo Academy would be! And you know a manly man Nurse like me… slam dunk.

  1. Hey Jet,

    I agree – Yuk!! That sounds like lottsa Mischief buddy – glad you didn’t have to go too, eating treats at home sounds like a way better option!! :)

    So happy you’re gonna join in the Mischief Master Class Book Dude – Thanks – I left you a reply :)

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy :)

    • Hey Snoop (term of endearment), Jet here.

      Dude, you know it! I’ll take piggy ears and no car ride any day instead of what JJ had to endure.

      Whoo hoo! Happy to participate, you are a clever K9, the idea is a smash hit for a wonderful cause. :)

      Have a great day.

    • Hey Sugar, Jet here.

      Really??? My golden sister, Koko, may she be frolicking over the Rainbow Bridge, had a reasonable amount of ear hair. We didn’t know the difference until we met Little Miss Wonder Dog! She has big paws (no judgment, just reporting)and super hairy ears! Ahhh… Mom asked me to ask if you use a special tool or just regular scissors for the beautiful Sugar?

      Happy MM to you ladies as well. :)

    • Hey brown dawgs, Jet here. Hi Miss Linda.

      You know it Miss Linda. Selfishly, glad I’ve only visited once. JJ has become increasingly fearful even though they give her lots of lovies. Mom thanks CareCredit for making all the medical care possible!

    • Hey Urban Hounds, Jet here. Hi Miss Kate? (Katie?) which do you prefer. I, Jet the Gentleman am nothing if not polite!

      JJ is being a trooper about the whole thing, I’m not even thinking about the possibility that I, such a manly man, could have them, too! ICK… Mom will know soon enough.

  2. Goodness, where in the world did she get hook worms from?

    I do hope her ear feels better soon, I’m sure it can’t be pleasant having everyone flushing her ear. :-)

    • Hey Sampson, Hey Delilah, Jet here. Hi Miss Jodi.

      They say its from eating other poop! Our Little Miss Wonder Dog, a poop eater?… say it isn’t so… Mom is the first to shove her hands down our throat to grab naughty things we try to eat. We might have been on someone else’s watch or Mom may have missed it during the cone time….

      Thank you, I will pass on your feel better ear wishes. :)

  3. Poor JJ! What a strong little pup to take all that discomfort so well. Our vet said we have to have Daisy’s inner ear hair plucked regularly in order to prevent wax wads and infection. That’s the one thing I don’t want to do, so we take her to a groomer every 3-4 months who uses an anesthetizing powder on her ears and then plucks the hair out. Daisy doesn’t seem to mind it, surprisingly. Just the thought of it makes me cringe!

  4. Ewwww… hookworms. Well, at least they found out early. Better now than later!

    Good thing your mom is such a responsible owner, Jetty. I hope JJ’s ears are all better. I think we’re having the same problem with Chooey. We clean her ears everyday, but the browny stuff is always there. We will ask our Mr. Vet on what to use to cure it next time.

    Huggies and Cheese,

    Haopee

    • Hey it’s Jet here.

      I know big time EWWWWWWWWWW…

      Oh I love when my friends call me Jetty. :)

      Nope, JJ’s ear is still “under treatment”, Mom has to flush her ears beginning next Saturday for a week. :( Then she will go on maintanence.

      Hope Chooey’s ears get better really fast!

  5. hey Jet,

    So furry nice to meet you! Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving a nice comment, I appreciate it!

    *shivers…Hookworms. Ick!! Poor JJ! And then to have to deal with a wad of earwax, what a miserable Monday! I hope JJ gets both the wax and worms out asap. Nurse Jet, I bet JJ feels much better knowing you are on the case. I know I would! :->

    Suka

    • Hey Suka, Jet here.

      Our pleasure, we try to visit as many of our furiends as possible!

      Oh you know it, major EWWWWWWWWWWWW… Thanks for your kind wishes, I will share them with JJ, she’s napping at the moment! I hope she appreciates my nursing skills, I share them with love. :)

      Let’s keep in touch Suka. Have a great day.

  6. Hi sweet Jetty – OH No Poor JJ – ear wads and hookworms -that is alot of mischief! poor sweet girl! please give her some extra hugs and kisses from me!

    Good thing she has such a great older brother with such awesome nursing skills to help take care of her!

    sending feel better soon JJ goodnight hugs and kisses to you, JJ, Mom, Rachel and Pluffy!

    p.s. that is so amazing that Rachel visited India last summer!

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

      Thanks Miss Wendy, Mom and I will take care of the extra hugs and kisses for you!

      Yes, I’m quite a good nurse, if I don’t say so myself. As boy of the house, I feel responsible to help wherever and whenever needed. :)

      Sending caretaking Jetty kisses and JJ hugs to you, Mr. David, Jacob (how was computer camp?), Cassie, Rex and Barkley xoxoxoxoxo

      • Hi Jetty – thanks for asking – computer camp is great – he;ll work in a group(he needs practice working in a group) and learn how to program Apps for a Google Android??? I;m super untechnical but he loves this stuff and he gets 3 credits for it! He hopes to apply to FAU in their Computer Science Engineering dept. so this is a good experience for him. sleep well buddy – love you! xoxox

        P.S I;m ashamed to say our little Rex (the Pom)i s a poop eater! He’s been doing it for years and of course we stop him whenever we catch him doing it EWWW!!!!

      • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy.

        Oh Mr. Jacob, you are a tech master! Oh and we have friends that INSIST on Android and make fun of those apple thingies. Credits, too? Cool beans!

        Miss Wendy, I did have a pretty good night’s sleep… since we didn’t have those horrible storms. Hope Cassie did as well.

        Rex, Dude, you obviously need a course on manners @ Scooby Doo Academy. :) Maybe you and JJ can carpool or skype in together! :)

    • Hey Leroy, Hey Sherman, Jet here. Hi Miss Jenn.

      I know, here in the tropics, people say Pobrecita (poor baby)… she’s been getting lots of lovies and extra treats! We’ll give her some from you guys, too… Newfie lovies, wow… good stuff.

  7. Hi
    It is me Tweedles. Thank you for stopping by to say hi to me! I appreciate that!
    Here I am to see you!! Gosh,,, IKY POOOOO hookworrms and ear wax?
    I think you are so brave having your ears washed out,, I think it sounds very scary to me.
    I hope you feels better when the wormies are gone.. and you can hears better.
    love
    tweedles

    • Hey Tweedles, Jet here.

      Our pleasure, nice to make your acquaintance!

      We agree, my sister, JJ has been quite the trooper with all this stuff going on. We hope the worms have scooted and that I DON’T HAVE THEM… double YUK.

      Have a great day.

  8. Hi Jet!

    We rescued Linus from our local animal shelter and he had worms too. I don’t remember if they were hookworms, but he was on meds for 2 weeks. I hope JJ’s meds make him feel better.

    Happy Monday!
    Colby

    • Hey Linus, Jet here. Hi Mr. Colby.

      Mr. Colby, we’ve missed seeing you in the queue… I don’t get many manly man comments you know. BTW, we gave you an award last week, however, Mom made a little goof, so you have to read both thursday and friday to pass it on correctly!

      Oh gosh, poor Linus; JJ (Jasmine Joy) has a 2 week protocol, too. She’s acting like her normal bouncy self, so, I don’t think they’re affecting her much! :)

Leave a Reply

