Monday Mischief … JJ – Cauliflower Snatcher

Hey, It’s Jet Here.

Last week, Mom purchased a bunch of veggies on sale at the grocery store.  She decided to roast the cauliflower, broccoli, red onion and sweet potato.  JJ and I, Mom’s Kitchen K9s extraordinaire, stood ready to tackle our kitchen’s QC, quality control.  Mom tossed us a few cauliflower and broccoli tidbits from the cutting board to assure the raw veggies met our level of satisfaction.  Hearing our two jaws snap like a University of Florida gator chomp, she knew so far, so good.

Since K9s cannot eat onions and raw sweet potatoes did not seem appealing, Mom went about putting the veggies on the roasting pans, drizzled oil, used the pepper mill and a teensy bit of Celtic sea salt.  The final step before the veggies go in for a tanning session?  Mom quickly massages the cruciferous, starchy and allium components making sure to coat the veggies with the oil mixture.

She turned to the sink to wash the slippery oil off her hands allowing her to transfer the pans to the oven and … SOMEONE, NOT MENTIONING NAMES, COUNTERSURFED AND SNATCHED A CORNER’S WORTH OF CAULIFLOWER!   Mom gave her the naughty speech, returned to washing her hands and SOMEONE, NOT MENTIONING NAMES, COUNTERSURFED AND SNATCHED A CORNER’S WORTH FROM THE 2ND TRAY OF CAULIFLOWER AND RAW SWEET POTATOES!  Oh, that someone received the “REALLY JJ? RAW SWEET POTATO” lecture after Mom grabbed her phone to snap a picture for Mischief Monday!

Another great, I’m not in trouble, day.

Thanks to Alfie’s BlogSnoopy’s Dog BlogMy Brown Newfies and Luna, A Dog’s Life…for sponsoring the hop!

Snoopy's Dog Blog

24 thoughts on “Monday Mischief … JJ – Cauliflower Snatcher

    • Hey Sugar, Jet here. You’re missing out! We eat lots of veggies except: onions and their family, dangerous for us. I personally love radishes and jicama! Happy Monday Mischief to you, too Sugar!

  1. Haha,

    That’s some great Mischief there JJ – guessing you just have to take what you can get when you only have a limited time, even if it is Sweet Potato!!

    Jet did you get some nice cooked veggies for being so good?

    Wags to all,

    Snoops :)

    • Hey Snoopy, Jet here. My sister reports… “exactly Snoopy, finally someone understands my point of view!”

      Mom gave me a few extra tidbits of her next dish, string beans, as she prepared them for steaming. Oh were they yummy. Thanks for recognizing I deserved merit treats for good behavior!

  2. I wish I were tall enough to counter surf!! That’s why I have to wait for a chair to be left out form the table to steal yumminess from the counter!!!!!

    ~Higgins

    • Hey Higgins, Jet here. I understand. Mom often needs chairs and other helpers to reach items too. She tells my human sister she’s vertically challenged! She says to remember, good things come in small packages. Bet that describes you too, right Higgins?

  3. Hi Y’all,

    If I even look at the counter I hear “aht, aht”…Y’all are good to get the job done with your human right there.

    Just hopped by from Monday Mischief to catch up on your happenings and say hello! Have a great week!

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

    • Hey, it’s Jet here. Hi Hawk. Thanks for hopping by. Yes, my sister is one bold K9! She’s only been here 9 weeks, so, we’re working on the less than wonderful habits she arrived with. Mom told me NOT to copy the surfing habit, I’m trying, but….

  4. Hi Jetty – OOOHH that JJ !!! She loves her veggies and takes her job as QC Officer very seriously- loved her picture – made me smile all day! I also really enjoyed reading all the cute comments from your cyber pals on the blog hop!

    sending goodnight kisses and hugs to you, JJ, Mom, Rachel, Puffy and Fluffy xoxoxo

    • Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Wendy. Oh Miss Wendy, you won’t believe what you know who did a little while ago. Mom decided to make the stuffed peppers she promised to make on Saturday. She gave us tidbits of zucchini and sweet red pepper as usual and made little piles on her cutting board. The ground turkey simmered away in her cast iron skilled. She experimented with a Rachael Ray trick and used a potato masher to break it up. The masher lay tilted with the delicious turkey drippings slowly sliding down onto the counter. She went to the fridge to retrieve (get it? retrieve? BOL (bark out loud)) mushrooms and JJ PRETENDED to be interested in technique and knocked over the masher onto the floor, stretched her tongue to reach the zucchini and began to reel those tidbits in. I took the opportunity to HELP Mom by CLEANING the masher, leaving it spic and span on the floor.

      I’m glad you smiled all day… :) My new cyber pals from the blog hop are really fun Miss Wendy… I agree.

      Goodnight Jetty kisses (I’m resting right now) and JJ hugs (she’s laying at Mom’s feet, sacked out) to you, Mr. David, Jacob, Cassie, Rex and Barkley.

  5. Hey Jet,
    Jack here. I happen to like sweet potatoes but I have never in my life counter surfed. It would be easy for me because I am so tall but I have never tried it. Glad you are such a good boy, Don’t let JJ’ set a bad example for you (although I must admit that the picture of her was quite fetching (no pun intended).

    • Hey, it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Rebecca, Hi Jack. I like BAKED, ROASTED or STEAMED sweet potatoes too… but raw??? I know, I tried surfing tonight and Mom was NOT amused. I’ll pass on your compliment to JJ, she’s napping right now… (read my response to Miss Wendy’s comment and you’ll know why!)

      Have a great evening Jack, great to hear from you!

    • Hey, it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Jen. Since Mom is the Kitchen Counselor, maybe she could help you figure out a way to eat those yummy veggies! Oh, she told me to mention that the whole roasting thing is quick and easy! Last night, when she made stuffed peppers, JJ and I got some zucchini and sweet pepper tidbits, YUM!

  6. Hey Jet, I’m glad it wasn’t you who got in trouble. I always come running when I hear my person chopping vegetables and she usually gives me the ends. I only counter surf when no one’s around though. Usually there’s nothing good there, but sometimes my person forgets and leaves something out.

    • Hey, it’s Jet here. Hi Bongo. We get the ends too. As soon as we hear the cutting board cabinet open, we assume our Kitchen K9 positions! Koko, may she be frolicking over the Rainbow Bridge, was a super surfer. She taught Mom about leaving things on the counter!

    • Hey, it’s Jet here. Hi Kroten. Do you share JJ’s enjoyment of raw sweet potatoes? Wow, I will have to share that with her today. JJ: Hi Kroten. Thanks for your understanding and support, you rock! Jet does not have as diverse a palate as I do! What other veggies do you enjoy? Maybe we have a few more in common. Oh, thanks Mom for transcribing. You’re welcome Jasmine.

    • Hey, it’s Jet here. Hi Dr. Rayya. I wish I could say JJ had a sheepish expression when Mom caught her, however, she boldly repeated the snatching procedure! I was a GOOD BOY Dr. Rayya!

Leave a Reply

