3:45 a.m. – Great time for Snuggles!

Hey, it’s Jet Here.

As you may have deduced (vocabulary building word), Mom’s running a deficit in the sleep department.  She fell asleep early last night after watching the Miami Heat claim victory over her childhood team, The New York Knicks.  I matched the Heat jersey colors perfectly last night showing my solidarity with DWade, LeBron, Chris Bosch, and the guys. JJ and I let her sleep instead of waking her for our “before bed tank emptying.”  The downside of that decision – we wake up earlier than usual.

Mom and I woke up, (Ok, I might have helped her wake up just a little) at 3:45 a.m.  She keeps her old cell phone on the bedside table to use as an alarm clock, since her alarm clock mysteriously fell to the ground one too many times.

When Mom wants us to know it’s too early to rise, she turns on her side and slides her pillow off her sleeping wedge.  I take my cue and reposition myself.  I look like one side of a human “unibrow” with my head meeting Mom’s on her pillow.  With her eyes closed, she pets my fur and massages one side of my head, cupping her hand behind my ear.  Oh, that feels really good.  I lick her resting hand to show my appreciation. (the picture is not me or my our bed, gives you an idea though…)

After a while, I reposition again; I look like the filling to a reverse Capital “C”.  Mom can reach my belly this way and I can reach her extended left arm to lick and show my appreciation.  The last reposition ends in spooning; with Mom generously sharing her pillow with me.  By 4:17 a.m. Mom surrendered to the hope of falling back to sleep, turned on the tv to watch the end of this show called Project Runway and then watched Private Practice, which she completely slept through last night.

At 5:19 a.m., JJ and I flanked Mom like plane wings while she took dictation for this post.  We started to nudge her for breakfast eleven minutes to 6:00 a.m., even though the post reflects off the monitor incomplete.  We’ll give her a few more minutes!

Another great and early start to the day.

7 thoughts on “3:45 a.m. – Great time for Snuggles!

  1. Hi Jetty – poor Mom she must be pooped today! She is so kind to snuggle you so early in the a.m.! I hope she gets a nap in today

    Sounds alot like my nights: Mr David takes Cassie for her last business between 11;00-11;30. You;d think she;d sleep through the night right??? but NOOOO – she has gotten into this habit of waking me up (by going up side down on the stair landing and banging her tail in to the wall – sounds like the house is under attack) I;m a light sleeper so I wake right up to stop the noisy assault going on the stair well before she wakes up Jacob – I lumber down stairs eyes half closed – now this ruckus has woken up Rex (not Barcley he does’nt stir at all) I give Rex a small portion of food ( or else he barks like crazy!) and let him out to do his business, I give Cassie a small plate of food and her pills, I take my pills. let Rex in, hook up Cassie take her out – in my PJ;s once again eyes mostly closed! She does her biz, we come back in unhook her – lumber back upstairs plop into bed – EVERY NIGHT!!!

    What is most annoying is that over the summer Jacob and I went to Orlando to stay with my in-laws and you know what?? That stinker Cassie slept through the night all the time I was gone – I know I could break of her this habit but she does tugs at my heart so and I do smile and laugh every night when I see her big goofy up side down grin looking at me and see her tail banging happily against the wall – what can say I am a crazy dog lady and you sweet furry creatures have us Moms wrapped around your pawpaws!!

    • Hey, it’s Jetty here. Hi Miss Wendy. Luckily, Rachel had rehearsal, so Mom took an hour + nap this afternoon with JJ and I.

      Wow, Mom and I read your wee hour ritual with deep appreciation and admiration for your dedication. Just between us, when Mom goes away, I always sleep later than 6! Mom walks us in her pjs too.

      We do have you wrapped around our paws, and you have us wrapped around your hearts!

      Big hugs Miss Wendy for being such a wonderful human to Cassie, Rex and Barkley and a great friend to JJ and I!

      xoxo Jetty

  2. Hi Jetty – I hope you had a great day – it was toasty warm wasn;t it?? almost like summer!

    sending goodnight hugs and kisses to you, JJ, Mom Rachel, Puffy, Fluffy

    • Hey, it’s Jet here. Um, Miss Wendy? Who turned on the Sun??? Mom said she felt as if it were June today after we walked. Don’t they know that a guy like me with a black fur coat needs a little break for part of the year????

      Sleep well, too Miss Wendy.

      Jetty kisses and JJ hugs to you, Mr. David, Jacob, Cassie, Rex and Barkley

  3. Pingback: Mischief Monday – 4:12 | Hey… It's Jet Here

Leave a Reply

