What About Me?

Hey, It’s Jet Here.

I’m a little sad this morning.  Here’s why.  You know that we, of the K-9 persuasion have really good hearing.  So, last night, Mom spoke with my Auntie Liz for a long time.  Sometimes, Mom uses this Do-hickie thing on her head so she can talk and have her hands free to do stuff like: feed me, pet me, brush me, walk me … oh and wash the dishes, cook, or work on the computer.  Other times, I hear voices in the room when I only see Mom because she uses this button called speaker.

Anyway, Mom went on and on with Auntie Liz about this stuff called Art Basel, Art Miami, Pulse, Scope, Art this, Art that, etc.

She said that Grandpa generously gave her something called VIP passes because he’s unexpectedly traveling to someplace far away called China.  I could tell from her voice that she has happy feelings about this stuff.  For five days, really soon, looks like Mom will virtually disappear from our house.  She blocked off all kinds of time in something called a calendar to go all over Miami to see art.

Now, I totally understand when Mom leaves me to: earn biscuit money, buy stuff to make our house comfortable, buy food which she shares with me or to take my human sister places.  But, this doesn’t sound good… I heard Auntie Liz ask, “Can Jet have a few sleepovers at someone’s house?”  Mom had the good sense to say, NO, however, she did say she would have to figure out how to cover her time away.  Away?  Hey Mom, I like art, I’m a connoisseur of the finer things.  Don’t I like gourmet food – YES!  Don’t I like beautiful scents like fine shampoo – YES!  Don’t I enjoy mingling with people – YES!  What about me, Mom… WHAT ABOUT ME???

Jetty, Jetty, Jetty, I’m sorry you feel left out.  Unfortunately, the people in charge of Art Basel and the other art events did not have the foresight to permit K-9s to attend.  I promise you will remain on your schedule, have lots of attention from people you love, including me in the morning and at night.  You know how you like to go on car trips to the park?  Well, I like to visit with friends and participate in fun things, too.  Sharing time with friends and having fun enriches our lives which I know I want for you and I know you want for me.  Well, since you put it that way, Mom, I guess I understand.  I’ll even wag my tail a lot when you come home.

Another great and understanding day.

3 thoughts on “What About Me?

  1. Good Morning sweet Jet: don;t feel sad – it’s ok, Mom loves you so much! the time will go fast and before you know it things that art stuff will be over and Mom will be so happy she got to see it! have a lovely day! hugs to you sweet boy!

    • Hey, It’s Jet here… Good Morning to you, Wendy. Thanks for your support and help in understanding about Mom and this art stuff. Hope you have a great day, too! Please give your pups belly rubs from their friend, Jet.

  2. Pingback: I like Beethoven | Hey… It's Jet Here

Leave a Reply

